Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2007, 07:37 AM   #1
jimstamos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 850
Default down converting hd to sd

when i bring in hd footage and want to down convert it to sd, how long does this take. what are the steps
jimstamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 09:16 AM   #2
GrassValley_BM
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_BM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR USA
Posts: 31
Default

Simple. Just choose project settings that reflect your desired output.

The conversion of HD content in an SD project should be realtime when using the "Print To Tape" option, as well as previewing timeline playback.

If you want to "Print To File" (convert an HD project to a single SD file), the render time will vary depending on the depth of your timeline edits and system speed.
GrassValley_BM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 08:23 PM   #3
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Jimbo...


The advice to edit in SD seems to be the best way to do it rather than edit in HD and then convert at the end. :)


Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 10:45 AM   #4
kungperra
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi

I have been reading lots of forums on how to downconvert the HDV footage, and I guess there isnt just one way that is the best to downconvert HDV to SD DVDs, but it seems to be one of the best ways to do ut with Edius Procoder. As I dont know if that IS the best way i thought I'd just ask you guys that has been in the business for some time, cause i just dont seem to find the final answer by myself...

Im helping one of my customers to find the best possible way of converting their footage from a HDV camera, and if anyone could help me out with the steps in doing this i would be very very grateful.

I have downloaded a trial of Edius v4.5 now and are making my tryouts with that product.

I have captured .m2t files (and that is the raw footage if I understand this correctly?) and They edited this on a HD timeline. Now as Mike says here it seems to be better to open up a SD timeline and work with the raw HDV .m2t files there instead? Will that produce a better end conversion? And why would that be? (Im just curios to know, i guess im just one of thoose persons that doesnt just satisfy with "do this and it will be fine" :) sorry :) )

After this i have used procoder express to convert it with the standard settings ( part from choosing 16:9 and upper field in the advanced settings)

This gives me a pretty good result, i am satisifed with it, but of course Id like a litte extra touch of quality if it is possible, cause i do loose the HDV footage quality (of course) when downconverting, and as i dont know enough about converting the already compressed HDV format to another comressed SD DVD format, i think that it should be possible to retain some more of the really good HDV footage... or Im I wrong....?

If you take a movie that is released on DVD you get a really good looking picture, and I cant reproduce that kind of quality from my HDV footage. The reason for this i guess is that the filmindustry isnt using the cam that I got, and they have another "base" material to convert from, maybe analog material from 32mm filmstrips... i dont know but I guess that is part of the reason?
But what i would like explained I guess is this, when I hook up my cam via HDMI to my TV looking at the "raw" HDV footage it looks amazingly good(better?! then any hollywood movie release, at least bloody **** good), and from this footage I had hoped to at least get close to a SD DVD from the movie industry, is that possible or is it just a fact that you cant convert HDV footage from a already compressed source as the HDV is?

Maybe i should output the files through something else but the Procoder Express that is in Edius, there is a Lossless export and then convert it with something else to the SD DVD format?

Sorry, this became a novell....

I hope someone can help me explain some of this....

Best Regards
Perra
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 06:03 PM   #5
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,238
Default

Perra,

(Here is a copy of a post I made a couple of weeks ago on the same subject. You might find it informative - as I have heard from many others who convert in the same way. Made a BIG difference!):

This might be old knowledge to many of you, but on this forum I've witnessed a great deal of discussion and dissatisfaction with various techniques to get an HD or HDV edit transfered to a great-quality SD DVD. I, myself, have tried each and every way I've seen suggested, and with the same mediocre results - especially from what was an HD quality shoot.

I just finished experimenting with a technique I have not seen posted on the forum (that dosn't mean many of you don't do it this way) that has resulted in a really great looking DVD - finally. I just wanted to share this with whomever might want a little visual joy in their life! I have a stack of terrible-looking DVD's that are going to get melted into a paperweight!

Since I'm transfering the HD edit back to HDV for archiving, I have ended up with an *.m2t file of the EDIUS edit. Sooooo.....I opened a new 1080 project, imported the *.m2t file, changed the project to a DV720x480 48Khz project, rendered the timeline, transfered the render to DVD VOB files and recorded a 2 hour DVD+R DL, and it looks terrific. Almost imperseptible jaggies, great resolution and clarity, and just a small amount of "line jitter" from the line conversion. Much better by far - for some reason - than when I just took the HD timeline and traveled the same road to SD.

To continue my experiment, I took the same procedure and altered the "layout" of the *.m2t file - stretching it to "full frame" height, then re-rendered - resulting in an anamorphic DVD which looks sensational on one of my wide-screen TV's which stretches a 3x4 picture horizontally to fill the 16x9screen, and on a laptop which can do the same.

As I said - if many of you have done it this way, forgive my imposition. But if you haven't, and you're one of the one's who is still dissatisfied - try it. You'll like it!

Best to all,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 09:21 PM   #6
Jonathan Porter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 84
Default

I wonder if this method would work with a DVC PRO HD 720P timeline?

JP
Jonathan Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 09:21 PM   #7
kungperra
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Grrrr! my entire post just dissapeared when i submitted....

Anyway , Hi Alan and thank you very much for replying!

I have a couple of question that i hope you can clarify for me, im very eager to try this out as it sounds like it will do some magic for me! :)
(Im a PAL user,maybe worth mentioning)

First of all i am supposed to edit it all in a 1080i timeline of my HDV footage.
Then im going to export this to a .m2t file(s) How is this done, am I going to use "print to file" option and procoder express using the HDV2 to produce that file or some other way?


Then open a new 1080i project and import the files there, and then change the project settings to a DV50i project. Can i instead of outputting the editied footage in step one, change that from the beginning maybe? That is, change it right after opening up the inital 1080i project and have dropped in my HDV m2t files? does this matter?

Then im supposed to render the timeline, how do I do this, do you mean i should "print to file" again to some format, maybe m2t file again? and then use some other tool for getting my VOB files? And what tool do you use in that case? Can the procoder express be used?

Ive read lots of hours on forums on how to make the best conversion, but this seams to be the easiesd way!

Maybe you have tried one of theese things I have read in comparison to what you have here:
Some talks about exporting the timeline to"Uncompressed 10-Bit 4:2:2" movie file and then go from there to VOB files, some people using Final Cut Pro that was...

And some talks about cineform is the way to do it....

Have you any experience of that, maybe you could add ...

Thank you very very much for helping out! Im really very grateful!

Best Regards
Perra
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 11:08 PM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_MD View Post
Jimbo...


The advice to edit in SD seems to be the best way to do it rather than edit in HD and then convert at the end. :)


Mike
I am having a hard time on this one. If you are talking about just having realtime conversion, ok I agree. But, I do a full edit from a 1920x1080 timeline and use procoder 3 to create the downconvert with the filters added for color adjustments. I get a much better looking product from an HD master as opposed to an SD master.
I also create an uncompressed HD file of the final product and if need be do the encoding on another machine with Procoder 3.

Please explain to me how using SD to go to SD would be better than using HD to SD. My tests just do not support that.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 01:50 AM   #9
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Nothing I have done Jerry, There was a time (Not to long ago) that this was the way most folks were recommending.

The best thing to do would be to have all of the ways listed and let the individuals decide which one looks best to them. :)


Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 02:38 AM   #10
Martin_Gleeson
Senior Member
 
Martin_Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJL14 View Post
Since I'm transfering the HD edit back to HDV for archiving, I have ended up with an *.m2t file of the EDIUS edit. Sooooo.....I opened a new 1080 project, imported the *.m2t file, changed the project to a DV720x480 48Khz project, rendered the timeline, transfered the render to DVD VOB files and recorded a 2 hour DVD+R DL, and it looks terrific. Almost imperseptible jaggies, great resolution and clarity, and just a small amount of "line jitter" from the line conversion. Much better by far - for some reason - than when I just took the HD timeline and traveled the same road to SD.
Some points on this (just my opinions):

My nornal workflow is:

1. Capture from HDV camera as Canopus HQ 1440x1080 50i
2. Edit with HD timesline as above
3. Export HD timeline to Procoder 3 MPEG2 720x576 16:9

I get soft pictures with artifacts and some jaggies.


I would propose a similar workflow to yours expect:

1. Capture from HDV camera as Canopus HQ 1440x1080 50i
2. Edit with HD timesline as above
3. Change project settings to 720x576 D1 (16:9) and export to procoder 3 for MPEG2 encoding.

The main different would be that you use m2t files in step 3 above. The reason I would rather change the project with Canopus HQ files to SD, is that I find there is quality loss when you create the m2t file.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro. Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming mainboard, Intel i7-8700K processor, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz RAM, Radeon R9 270 2GB DDR5 Graphics.
Samsung SSD Drives for system and mixture of SSD and 7200 SATA for video storage.

Edius 9.50. Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4k
Dublin, Ireland. PAL.
Martin_Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of SD DVD from HD Timeline Martin_Gleeson ProCoder 3 03-05-2008 06:02 AM
Down converting mxf HD to SD in a format usable in Pinnacle Josh J Editing with EDIUS 4 09-19-2007 08:15 AM
Converting SD project to HD 720p? Mike Truly Editing with EDIUS 18 08-18-2007 01:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.