Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2015, 08:07 PM   #1
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 773
Default Motion JPEG to Canopus HQ

The source file is a Motion JPEG, 1920 x 1080.

Using ProCoder 3, it's Canopus HQ settings come only in PAL and NTSC, allowing only the 1440 x 1080 setting.

Using Edius 6.07, while using the "Convert" command on the same file in the media folder, I can successfully transcode to Canopus HQ at 1920 x 1080.

Why the difference in resolution, and restriction on the ProCoder setting?
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 10:20 PM   #2
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 773
Default

Nevermind!

I guess ProCoder 3 has a default setting of 1440 x 1080 for HQ.

I tinkered with it, and figured out how to make a new "preset" under the Canopus HQ list, for the full 1920 x 1080.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 04:54 AM   #3
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,684
Default

Hopefully, you're using 3.05. Version 3.06 has a flaw on the NTSC side. Procoder 3.06 won't do dual pass vob in NTSC.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 06-21-2015 at 05:01 AM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 05:45 AM   #4
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 773
Default

Jerry,

Thanks very much for your tip. I am using 3.06. The 3.05 legacy download is still available on the support website.

Even though I don't use P3 for encoding to MPEG for disc authoring, I will keep your information in mind. I will roll-back if it ever becomes necessary.

Also, even though it was easy to create the 1920 by 1080 preset, it seems strange it wasn't already there as a regular selection by default.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 07:25 AM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,684
Default

I liked PC 1-3, but times move on. TAW 5 does everything, and more than PC3. I also have H.264 time line export by way of the TMPGE AVC Movie plugin.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 05:32 PM   #6
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 773
Default

True, but ProCoder is still nice utility software to have for your toolbox, on those occasions where you need to transcode a particular file, or group of files, for special purposes.

Like power or hand tools in your garage, you can never have too many!
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 08:45 AM   #7
vaghtsers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: united states
Posts: 1
Default

Great news and excellent to reviewing it
vaghtsers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motion JPEG 2000 Supported in Edius 7? digisavit Editing with EDIUS 0 02-19-2014 11:08 PM
Quicktime Motion jpeg? waynz Editing with EDIUS 3 02-09-2010 11:00 PM
Apple motion JPEG B in 5.0? VideoOpp Editing with EDIUS 4 09-29-2008 07:12 PM
Canopus SoftDVSD & Canopus HQ encoder lordxemperor Editing with EDIUS 1 12-04-2007 06:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.