Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2010, 09:37 AM   #1
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,126
Default More questions about Edius 6

1. Is it possible to open existing Edius 5 projects in Edius 6?

2. Will the new Layouter enable 3D motion to be applied to Quicktitles on a V or VA track?

3. Will the Free Shape Mask allow for future development to enable some form of motion tracker? Or is this not the same sort of tool for the job?

4. Does the timeline cursor now centre as it used to in version 4?

5. Can the full screen preview function be given a keyboard shortcut?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 09:40 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hooper View Post
1. Is it possible to open existing Edius 5 projects in Edius 6?

2. Will the new Layouter enable 3D motion to be applied to Quicktitles on a V or VA track?

3. Will the Free Shape Mask allow for future development to enable some form of motion tracker? Or is this not the same sort of tool for the job?

4. Does the timeline cursor now centre as it used to in version 4?

5. Can the full screen preview function be given a keyboard shortcut?

1. yes

2. yes

3. you can do that already manually with keyframes

4. NO

5. double click the player or recorder window and it will be full screen, double click the full screen and it will be back where it belongs
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:29 AM   #3
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,126
Default

Hi Anton,

Thank you for the quick reply.

With my item 3, about the Free Shape Mask. Do you think that there is scope to make this tool an automatic motion tracker in the future?

I knew about the double click for full screen preview, but hoped it might be assignable to the keyboard. I take it that it is not possible?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:34 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,121
Default

I don't know the answer to automatic motion tracking

yes, you can assign any keyboard shortcut to Full Screen Preview, even separate ones for player and recorder
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:42 PM   #5
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
4. NO
This is a shame as I always seem to find myself at the end of the screen and have to position around to get to a working area.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 06:01 PM   #6
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,949
Default

What are the other 40 features 60/100 stated
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 06:55 PM   #7
helios77
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandiago
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hooper View Post
1. Is it possible to open existing Edius 5 projects in Edius 6?

2. Will the new Layouter enable 3D motion to be applied to Quicktitles on a V or VA track?

3. Will the Free Shape Mask allow for future development to enable some form of motion tracker? Or is this not the same sort of tool for the job?

4. Does the timeline cursor now centre as it used to in version 4?

5. Can the full screen preview function be given a keyboard shortcut?
motion tracking would be a great tool! i wish there was sdk for edius plugin
helios77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 06:58 PM   #8
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
This is a shame as I always seem to find myself at the end of the screen and have to position around to get to a working area.
Perhaps it has something to do with increased RT overheads having to continually update a scrolling timeline with picons?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:34 PM   #9
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default Edius 6

Hey friends,

Im moving from Vegas Pro to Edius 6 when it comes out. Im tired of the frequent crashing of vegas. I think Edius 6 supports second display preview from a video card. The Nvidia GTX460 card is enough to support a second display preview or should i get an hdspark with edius 6?

Thanks,
Chris
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:41 PM   #10
Alphabeta
Senior Member
 
Alphabeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Accra
Posts: 127
Default

Not sure exactly but l think you can over HDMI if you setup correctly
Alphabeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions around Raid Usage with Edius bluprojekt EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 10 05-06-2010 08:05 PM
Edius to Flash Questions Mike Truly Editing with EDIUS 20 02-06-2009 05:21 PM
Edius on a laptop... several questions DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 8 05-21-2008 04:54 PM
Edius 4.5 questions ajcvideo Editing with EDIUS 7 02-01-2008 02:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.