Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2007, 02:31 AM   #1
DIGITALPOST
Senior Member
 
DIGITALPOST's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 115
Default HD transport streams

I've captured several TV broadcasts from a HD cable box via firewire using an app called CAPDVHS. These are saved with the an mpg extension "filename.mpg" but I believe they are transport streams.
VLC media player will play them and WMP will too < with the right mpg codec > but Edius refuses to load these files!
AE7 will load them without audio.... Newtek's SpeedEdit will also load them < without audio >.
Has anyone had any luck with HD broadcast captures in Edius?
I would at LEAST expect the video portion to load.
Thanks.
DIGITALPOST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:01 AM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Have you tried renaming to .m2t?
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:21 PM   #3
DIGITALPOST
Senior Member
 
DIGITALPOST's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 115
Default

yes... I tried that. it still reports " failed to load. It I could get it into the bin I could convert to HQ, but I can't get it load.
DIGITALPOST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 07:16 PM   #4
DIGITALPOST
Senior Member
 
DIGITALPOST's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 115
Default

update.... I loaded the file into an app call " video redo plus" and just exported as a PROGRAM stream and Edius now loads it including the audio.
I find it odd that edius loads just about everything, yet refuses the native transport files.
DIGITALPOST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 09:22 PM   #5
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Have you tried to load the file into ProcCoderExpress?
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 12:48 AM   #6
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIGITALPOST View Post
update.... I loaded the file into an app call " video redo plus" and just exported as a PROGRAM stream and Edius now loads it including the audio.
I find it odd that edius loads just about everything, yet refuses the native transport files.
From memory, EDIUS is very strict on headers in MPEG files. Ripped HDTV transport streams feature headers that EDIUS will think are incorrect (by design). Technically, they are. Using an app like mention, corrects the header information for EDIUS to read it.

You'll find that other apps simply disregard the header info irregularity. I believe it has something to do with how EDIUS generates/uses seek data.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 02:49 AM   #7
DIGITALPOST
Senior Member
 
DIGITALPOST's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 115
Default

Thanks for the info. At least I have a work around for now.
DIGITALPOST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Storm or HD Spark tony Editing with EDIUS 7 12-03-2008 11:55 AM
GIGABYTE GA-X38-DQ6 for HD editing ? zb21 Editing with EDIUS 9 02-08-2008 02:51 PM
HD 16:9 preview via Nx S-VHS Martin_Gleeson Editing with EDIUS 8 08-16-2007 07:21 PM
How to get my DVCPRO HD footage to render out 16:9 Gregster Editing with EDIUS 5 06-11-2007 03:33 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.