Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2009, 12:32 PM   #1
Nerfboy
Senior Member
 
Nerfboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 247
Default Enocoding MPEG, Super Fine vs Normal

When using Procoder 3 you get a few choices on what quality setting you wish to encode with. I always set the bit rate to where I think it will fit on a standard DVD...so does this setting matter?

Is Super Fine setting going to make a bigger file? Maybe a dumb Q, but had to be asked.
__________________
Motion Art Cinematography

Windows 10 Home 64 bit, Intel I7 4.2ghz, 32GB Ram, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1070

Gold Coast, Australia
Nerfboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 05:43 PM   #2
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

No bigger files but better quality but a little longer.
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:21 AM   #3
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Edius 5 Super Fine is what I normally use and it remains a crisp sharp image.
PC3 with it's master quality results in my experience in a softer picture ...........
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 07:29 AM   #4
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 258
Default Is PRO coder worth it for DVD mpeging?

Results in a softer picture?

I thought Procoder 3 was better with dual passing?
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 09:54 AM   #5
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutch TV View Post
Results in a softer picture?

I thought Procoder 3 was better with dual passing?
Not sure if it has slipped you mind but you just replied to a 2 year old post :)

Time has past and the encoding engine of P3 has not been updated, some of us export straight from timeline, some are using TMPGEnc VMW5.

Generally speaking I use Edius 6.05 HQfine to export a Master AVI file.
That master file I place in a new sequence and export as Mpeg HD with superfine settings.

For SD DVD I use the HQfine AVI master and feed that to TMPGEnc VMW5 using Antons settings also in superfine mode.

Other users possibly have various workflows.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 12:25 PM   #6
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 258
Default TMPGEnc VMW5 or Procoder

Thanks for the info.

So using TMPGEnc VMW5 is a good option then?

Have you compared exact footage with a TMPGEnc VMW5 v Edius super fine (still one pass I assume) v Procoder

Are the improvements in dual pass significant?
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 12:15 PM   #7
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 258
Default PROCODER 3 MPEGS no better than Edius.

Well I took delivery of procoder 3 thinking it was going to be a winner for great looking DVD's and I can't believe it THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE IN IMAGE quality.

Total disapointment as I was hoping it would have really rocked.

As conversions to MPEGS to DVD was the really only reason I bought the software I left feeling "well whats the point for me of Procoder 3.

By the way has anyone tested the difference in quality between doing Mpegs straight from the Edius timeline using the "fine" setting to that of going via "Burn to disc".
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 05:35 PM   #8
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,392
Default

Not sure if you read past my comment on the aging encoding engine in P3, some times it's better to see for your self, albight a little costly.

There are a couple of threads regarding no updates etc, should have seen the light :), I sold my P3 dongle a long time ago and never looked back.

In E6 the timeline export from a HD project to SD Mpeg2 for DVD has improved by heaps and is very usable.

I can't comment on the burn to disc as I never use it, my own workflow with AW4 leaves me with more flexibility and I use IMGburn to burn my image file from AW4.

Often a third part encoder is not needed, it just gives more control to who wants it.
I use it mostly for DVD creation and repair of curropt footage from clients.

Superfine encoding retains fine detail but take longer to encode.
Depending on the camera used to record, superfine might create jaggies & shimmering etc if HD content has a large amount of detail and is super sharp, when going to SD often normal settings will help to soften the image and mask problems.

For a camera that produces a softer image superfine help maintaining every bit of detail.
So the only thing you can do is test render a couple of short clips, it's really personal, no right or wrong here.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:07 AM   #9
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 258
Default Pro Coder 3 useless for me

Sound Freak this is the just awesome information and yes I did see your comments about how PC3 has been caught up by Edius.

I am using Sony EX1 and Canon XF300 cameras.

Its interesting what you say about Super Fine producing jagged edges. mmm Ok I will do a few tests (gee I am sick of doing all these tests!) and see what looks best.

Is it fair to say that using the Super fine is a bit like doing a dual pass encode?

My 2nd last question is I am hoping to be able to export and then import timeline markers so that what ever Authoring software I choose can import those markers (saves heaps of time).

Even better still what about being able to name the markers in Edius and then those names appear on the authoring menu.

My Final Cut friend asked me about this the other day and I said mmmm i don't think its possible with Edius. This would be a smart move for Grass Valley to improve on (thats if its not already possible).

Finally just when will Grass Valley develop a real professional DVD authoring program that intergrates with Edius. I have used BURN TO DISC alot and even brought in my own back ground images to improve the look but its really an average bit of software that if improved to industry standard would no doubt encourage other NLE users to consider Edius.

I love Edius and give it a 10 for editing and speed but the DVD authoring side of it is child like. People may respond to these comments by saying "Just use another authoring program" but the fact is time is money and I am a one man show here being cameraman/editor/account person etc etc.

I SIMPLY DO NOT WANT TO HAVE TO USE ANOTHER PROGRAM TO DO AUTHORING!

Grass Valley please improve Burn to Disc to industry standard.
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:35 AM   #10
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutch TV View Post
Well I took delivery of procoder 3 thinking it was going to be a winner for great looking DVD's and I can't believe it THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE IN IMAGE quality.
Hmm. This is still true after all these years it is still a great encoder for DVD's. It is not worse than EDIUS exporter or better with 1 pass VBR, it's definitely slower.
Like I mentioned specifically to you, the only reason to buy it is 2 pass VBR and this only helps when cramming a DVD with video for bit budgeting.
2 PASS VBR is clearly better where you have fade to/from blacks for instance start and end of programs when using a bit rate that is not up around the high end of town (7+Mb/s)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to super impose two videos? kruzer Editing with EDIUS 3 03-17-2009 08:43 AM
Is this normal? avlab1 Editing with EDIUS 8 06-29-2008 08:13 PM
Is this normal? antonsvideo Editing with EDIUS 7 09-05-2007 07:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.