Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2009, 02:59 AM   #1
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,435
Default 24 or 16 bit Audio into Edius?

Hello,

I have some audio that was recorded in Sonar in 24 bit.

I need to export the audio out of Sonar to be put on a 720p timeline in Edius 5.

The project from Edius will be output in HD & SD.

My question is: Should I leave it in 24 bit and let the Edius exporter or Enore CS4 deal with the 16 bit conversion or just export it as 16 bit from Sonar?

Thanks
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 03:27 AM   #2
peterC
Senior Member
 
peterC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 324
Default

Edius will only do 16bit AFAIK. So convert easiest way possible?
__________________
peterC
---------------------
Edius 3 v3.62 beta / DVRexRT cards
(Please don't throw stones, it works!)
Edius 9 v3
peterC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 04:58 AM   #3
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,435
Default

The project settings for 720p states 24 bit for sample size.?
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:02 AM   #4
peterC
Senior Member
 
peterC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 324
Default

Aah ok, no such option for my setup (that I know of), so sorry bout that.
__________________
peterC
---------------------
Edius 3 v3.62 beta / DVRexRT cards
(Please don't throw stones, it works!)
Edius 9 v3
peterC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:32 AM   #5
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

I would put my money on Sonar to reduce bit rate, at least if you want to add dithering to your conversion.

Don't forget that Edius is a Video Editor with sound capability, Sonar is Dedicated for Audio, could make al the difference if your picky about Q.

Then again, I also never tried to feed Edius 24 bit audio and with more than 48 Khz samples, will test this interesting question once works allows it.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:49 AM   #6
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Actually I just found a 32 Bit 192 Khz uncompressed wave file in my system so put it quickly on a HD timelime.

As the project settings state 16 Bit 48 Khz 2 channel audio, I assume that Edius is able to use less sample's than the original file, and do a quick and dirty 16 bit extraction of the much higher source.

It still sounds good with no additional buffer drop noticeable on the time line.

If you are not producing audiophile DVD-A spec audio dvd's with 24 bit 96 Khz I would say just drop the audio and let Edius convert it.

P.s where do you find 720p 24 bit in your presets ? any screenshot :) please
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:03 AM   #7
peterC
Senior Member
 
peterC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 324
Default

SoundFreak
Quote:
P.s where do you find 720p 24 bit in your presets ? any screenshot :) please
I know of no such. 16bit only for me (or 12bit).

Quote:
Actually I just found a 32 Bit 192 Khz uncompressed wave file in my system so put it quickly on a HD timelime.
I have frequently 'converted' to 'Edius audio compatible' , but none that high. Sometimes I use non standard audio/audio codecs and since we use Edius to produce video, audio should be good but.........
__________________
peterC
---------------------
Edius 3 v3.62 beta / DVRexRT cards
(Please don't throw stones, it works!)
Edius 9 v3
peterC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:34 AM   #8
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,435
Default

Go to the presets to start a new project.

Choose to make a new project preset & scroll through the different HD resolutions and framerates.

In the info box about each framerate it shows codec, audio etc... information.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:43 AM   #9
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,435
Default

I just put a 24 bit test file on the timeline and it played fine.

Sounded like it had more dynamic range than the 16 bit version I imported with it.

Now, do I just bring the 24 bit files in an render as usual or make a 24 & 16 bit version?
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 07:29 AM   #10
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

I think that should be depending on your output format and who will use it besides yourself.

For personal use it's not that important to stay compatible as long as you can play / see and hear it.

If it is for distribution than better stay within spec of the output format otherwise your clients will be screaming at you.

p.s. you can always provide multiple formats e.g HD video with 24bit audio & SD video with 16 audio, let the user choose what to play.

Last edited by SoundFreak; 02-05-2009 at 07:35 AM.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.