Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2019, 10:41 PM   #1
awilson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Is Edius 6 compatible with Windows 10?

Just got Edius 9 on a new Windows 10 computer, but I'll need to open old projects from E6 every once in while. I know I can open E6 projects on E9, but I used a lot of Quicktime Animation alpha graphics in my old projects that no longer work with E9. But I would also like to update old computer to Windows 10 as long as I know E6 will still work on it.

TL;DR I need to know if updating the old computer to Windows 10 will prevent me from still using Edius 6 on it.


Also, if I don't update to Windows 10, will it be safe to open projects in E9 in Windows 10 and then the Windows 7 computer? Or will that ruin the project by opening it on an earlier OS?

Thank you!
awilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:55 AM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,786
Default

QuickTime annimations and alpha channel graphics work in EDIUS 9.

Of course thirdparty titels or filters would require the 64 bit versions.
A way to have an extra assurance is to export your annimations to a HQX with alpha. This way you can open the old project preferably a duplicate in EDIUS 9 and you have them in a video file.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 05:17 PM   #3
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 555
Default

I believe I moved to Windows 10 mid 2015 when they were releasing the free trials.

I had some initial problems with audio drivers and things but don't forget you can run programs as 'Run As Compatible for Windows 7" if you need to.
from memory I had to run the compatability mode as administration but it worked
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar Edition GL703GE-ES73 17.3 Gaming Laptop, 8th-Gen 6-Core Intel Core i7-8750H processor (up to 3.9GHz), GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, 120Hz 3ms display, 16GB DDR4, 128GB PCIe SSD + 1TB SSHD, Windows 10

This laptop is a recent upgrade from Asus ROG G75VW as of October 2018 - Edius 8

Desktop: Win7x64Pro, 3.4ghz Intel Core i7-3770
Gigabyte Tech B75M-D3H, 16332 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 Samsung SSD
Edius 6 Edius 8
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 11:48 PM   #4
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 759
Default

I've got Edius v6.5 working fine on Win 10 32 bit system. Note 32 bit not 64 bit system.
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:28 AM   #5
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,735
Default

You may need to install Quicktime for Windows and activate it in the settings in EDIUS to get your QT footage working.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 8.10.188 not compatible with Matrox driver Ver 8.1 Realtype EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 0 11-06-2015 12:45 PM
Edius and Windows 10 Liverpool TV Editing with EDIUS 1 09-17-2015 02:39 PM
Edius 7.xx is not compatible with Windows 8.1. tony Editing with EDIUS 10 11-06-2013 07:55 AM
Windows 8 compatible arcabuddy ADVC 1 09-30-2013 06:27 PM
Edius - Windows 7 compatible? videogirl Editing with EDIUS 5 02-03-2010 04:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.