Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2015, 08:27 AM   #11
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,122
Default

what actually happens when you need to repair the license? does a window pop when you start PC or when you start EDIUS?

do you lose any of your activation counts when it happens?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 08:59 AM   #12
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
what actually happens when you need to repair the license? does a window pop when you start PC or when you start EDIUS?

do you lose any of your activation counts when it happens?
Basically when I run EDIUS after boot, there is a popup that says "check license" or something. Then I think EDIUS closes, memory may have failed me here. And then anyway, I go to the license list and the license key is turned red. So I right click and repair , then it is good.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 09:09 AM   #13
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,122
Default

does Win10 have a 100MB system reserved partition?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 11:36 AM   #14
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,392
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
does Win10 have a 100MB system reserved partition?
Same as previous versions.

My system has 100mb with 40mb used, this is after a clean install.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 12:42 AM   #15
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
does Win10 have a 100MB system reserved partition?
yes it does
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 11:36 PM   #16
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

An old Thread but I have a similar problem just upgraded my Windows 10 OS from version 1709 to 1809 (via a windows ISO to DVD) and now I cannot run eduis 8WG. It tells me to check the licence and in the licence manager on the PC it is showing in red as permanent so I tried offline repair via another PC but when I enter the response key I just get an error number as shown on the attachment. To resolve this issue do I need to contact Edius or is there anything else I need to try?
Attached Images
File Type: png Edius licence repair.PNG (58.0 KB, 33 views)
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 10:40 AM   #17
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

I am now going to try to roll back the windows 10 update and hope Edius licence is okay.
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 11:05 AM   #18
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,126
Default

Have you checked that your PC is showing the correct time and date?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 12:17 PM   #19
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Thanks John, dates and times okay.

The windows 10 Rollback to v1709 did not cure the problem, licence stiil in red and Edius will not start.

Have just used a previous Acronis True image and restored using an image made prior to the Win10 update and all now is thankfully working okay but with the old version of Windows. Edius licence text is now white and Edius working again. What a load of stress and waste of my time and now back where I was yesterday. Have lost a nights sleep over this all for nothing.

Perhaps when I have recovered I may be brave enough to try upgrading Windows 10 again but this time I will deactivate Edius (offline) prior to the upgrade to 1809 (or 1903). I have not seen anywhere that I should deactivate Edius before updating the Win10 OS. I was under the impression that the only time you need to deactivate is before you update/replace the hardware or move to a new PC.

This is one of the reasons I have not upgraded to E9 due to all of the activation issues that I read on the forum. I prefer a dongle but accept that GV will not offer them like BM Resolve where you can buy dongle or online activation versions. Also their online activation allows 2 uses at a time like edius but if you have a problem you just reactivate (3rd) and the oldest licence is automatically deactivated, so you still have 2 working licenses without having to contact support. With Edius if you have a problem you will lose a licence and pray that GV support will help you out. And in the meantime you will probably be stressed up like I was are not able to use that Edius edit PC. Peter
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 12:29 PM   #20
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,122
Default

welcome to the wonderful world of Win 10

there will be many more similar surprises, no doubt, because these huge updates twice a year are a full OS installation and things will go wrong

I am very happy about Win10 because I make lots of extra money fixing issues on customers computers (and so is every PC repair shop)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.