Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2013, 03:14 PM   #1
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default Sync question

Hi!

I have to edit footage from sony camera and canon dslr.
From the camera I have the date and time of rec.From dslr if I right clip on a clip I can see the date & time of rec but when I put all the footage in a file in the bin and I do right clip sort of fate & time.....there is nothing from canon that will give me the chance to mix these 2 footages concerning date&time of rec,Why is this happening ? any idea? I dont have pluraleyes and I can not find another way to sync them.
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:43 PM   #2
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default

noone? I think i must buy pluraleyes :-)
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:39 PM   #3
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,786
Default

If your time setting is close, you can open the properties of each dslr clip and set the timecode start point of the clip to the timestamp point, the timestamp is only hours mins secs, no frames, so you will be at least a second out even if your two cams start close in time terms, they'll never stay in sync, but this way you will be in the right area, then check audio envelopes to pull in to accurate sync.

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 11:30 PM   #4
hvx_germanboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 196
Default

The DSLR is not giving you a proper TC, nor can you "feed" it a good one, like using a lockit from AMBION for example.

Beside that, I am trying to find out right now, whether Edius can do a proper synch, when Audio- and Videoclip (or 2 videostreams from different cameras..) have the exact same TC.

Edius can do it, if you go through it one by one (thanks to Anton, check my other post..) but I haven't found a proper function, where I could drop all the files onto the Timeline and synch them at once.

Indeed PluralEyes gives you good results..install PE2 in Edius and try that.

Greetings from germany!
__________________
Edius 6.52
Windows 7-64bit
8GB RAM
Intel Core I5, M450@2,40GHz
hvx_germanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:19 AM   #5
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Just do it manually, find the first audio note, flash, on each camera, put a node on the clip, line them up, done, I can do it faster that plural eye, what do you guys think how poor man sync camera when we were using tape with out sync lock?
__________________
I7-6900K, X99 Taichi, Geforce GTX 1070, Corsair RM850X, Corsair H100 IV2, Windows 10, Edius WG 9.30
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:49 PM   #6
hvx_germanboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 196
Default

Haha..you might be right for longer clips (and yes, I spent a lot of time to synch manually..) but if you end up with dozens, if not hundred of clips a day, I doubt it will be fun to process it that way.

Seeing if you are faster than Plural Eyes would be an interesting race..can I book you in case?
__________________
Edius 6.52
Windows 7-64bit
8GB RAM
Intel Core I5, M450@2,40GHz
hvx_germanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 07:58 PM   #7
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Us old timer have enough experience not to not shoot multiple cameras without sync and do a bunch of stop and start recording, we think before we shoot, you guys got it so easy now, back then do you what it takes to do a dissolve?
__________________
I7-6900K, X99 Taichi, Geforce GTX 1070, Corsair RM850X, Corsair H100 IV2, Windows 10, Edius WG 9.30
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 11:48 PM   #8
vortigern
Senior Member
 
vortigern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvx_germanboy View Post
Haha..you might be right for longer clips (and yes, I spent a lot of time to synch manually..) but if you end up with dozens, if not hundred of clips a day, I doubt it will be fun to process it that way.

Seeing if you are faster than Plural Eyes would be an interesting race..can I book you in case?
Why would he have hundreds of separate pieces of dialogue in close up on two cameras I wonder? Manual lip synching is really not that difficult. The real drag in the old film days with separate tape audio were end boards.
__________________
E9 PRO ,Intensity Pro capture Nvidia 650 TI LG 3D Monitor HDMI Win 10 PRO 64 Bit.Vistitle 2.6, Robuskey. ASUS Z370 I7 8700 16 GB Hyper X black RAM 250GB 960 EVO. 2 ITB Disks
vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 02:20 AM   #9
BillShedoudy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 139
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham View Post
Just do it manually, find the first audio note, flash, on each camera, put a node on the clip, line them up, done, I can do it faster that plural eye,
Maybe with syncing 2 cams you would be faster, but I doubt with 4 or more.

Besides that's work, I'd rather be enjoying my free time while PE grinds it out for me. It's one of the best software purchases I have made in my life.
BillShedoudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 05:13 AM   #10
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,952
Default

All my projects are 4 or 5 AVCHD cameras for theatre shows so I do have the advantage of letting them all run for the length of the show. Sync is no problem manually and since I have done it this way for a very long time I do it very quick. Longest time is waiting for Edius to create the waveforms, that's when I have a cup of tea !!! Final sync is using multicam mode for the reasons I have mentioned as waveforms are not in sync with video a lot of the time.

Still feel the best approach is to let the cameras run. If using timecode sync them up with free run, then they can be stopped and started and use time code for setup in multicam. Seems to work when I tried with my NX5U and NX30U though since the other cameras I use are consumer models I would still have a couple to sync manually so really do not bother.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spark Sync? deebee69 Editing with EDIUS 15 11-15-2011 12:11 PM
sync problem leethomas Editing with EDIUS 4 03-13-2008 01:03 AM
What is Sync Mode? JimJulian Editing with EDIUS 4 09-29-2007 02:01 AM
Out Of Sync lauri Editing with EDIUS 4 06-08-2007 03:17 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.