Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2014, 08:35 PM   #1
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default need real know and experience with Edius and >nvidia SLI<

hello @ All

question transferred from the german forum:
Please, have anyone real know and experience with Edius and >nvidia SLI< < ??

a) Edius 6.08 ....will work well, .....or with problems ??
b) Edius 7.31 ....will work well,..... or with problems ??

the cards are.... two gtx770 4GB ... first test on Edius 6.08 ... Edius crash
first test was only with Edius 6.08 possible, in cause to "in the middle of a big project"

thanks for any helpful answer in advance .... Hans
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 08:51 PM   #2
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,940
Default

I have a GTX 690 with 2gpu
Edius does not support it
The same could well apply to SLI
I am sure someone with greater knowledge will chime in
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 09:25 PM   #3
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

thanks for replay ....
Quote:
Edius does not support it
a) not support.... it is to understood as ... with SLI will Edius6.54 crash/or freeze??
b) not support.... it is to understood as ... will not benefit from SLI... but will NOT crash/or freeze??
System 2, Asus P8Z77-V, i73770K, 16gb Ram, Asus GTX 690, Win 7 64 Ultimate,E6.54, CS6, Vegas 12 Pro, Caddy System

this is your system ?? .. and with only one active GTX 690 works Edius 6.54 ??

Hans
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 01:25 AM   #4
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default

Edius only uses the GPU for the GPU effects, all other work, playing back and decoding video files is done with the CPU.

As long as the GPU has 1GB RAM for the SD edit and 2GB is recommended for HD and up it is ok.

I am working up to 4K with 2 off 1GB NVIDIA FX3800 and the GPU memory is no more used than 30%. This is also not an officially supported set up but it works for me.

Some media clips like DVD VOB's if you see any plain green in the player window Edius cannot decode it properly and it is best to export it into an HQX file.

The NewBlue plugins use the GPU and with those I have to make the NVIDIA control panel to say Open GL is only GPU1 not auto. CUDA GPU setting I also set to GPU 1. You can turn off GPU rendering in the NewBlue window on the "i" button.

Edius 7.31 is happy.

If you add in any After Effects plugins from CS6 into Edius if they are not latest versions they can crash Edius. When testing the hardware set up it is best to test with only the default Edius plugins and no third party ones.

I suggest you install open hardware monitor and put the CPU usage, system RAM and GPU memory onto the system tray via the Open Hardware Monitor control window (right click on the item you want to put in system tray) and you can check whilst editing those measurements.

http://openhardwaremonitor.org/

It is important that the video card RAM does not collect memory leakage leaving items in the RAM which gradually can build up and once it gets to 60% + Edius will crash. It will mean some media in Edius has caused that to happen.

There was a problem in Edius 6.08 with a big timeline with many jpegs, and many bin folders and clips giving memory leakage. Replacing them with TGA files solved the problem. Not a problem now with Edius 7.

What is in the Windows event viewer when Edius makes a crash? Is there any clue there?

There was also a rendering problem especially with NewBlue with Windows update KB2670838 installed. "Platform update" you can uninstall it.

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV

Last edited by createmedia; 09-18-2014 at 01:31 AM.
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 01:47 AM   #5
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default

What I forgot to mention is that by setting the GPU 1 only for open GL in the Nvidia control panel it avoids GPU2 RAM filling up for no reason.

Some software seems to get confused when there are two GPU's and the setting is auto.

Go to Manage 3D settings Global settings for open GL and CL

If you want to use the GPU2 open GL for other applications then you can make a program set up just for the Edius application.

When NVIDIA detects Edius is launched it will apply the settings for Edius. Use the Program settings Tab to do that.

Overlay can cause a problem in Edius too leave that off.
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 05:40 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,647
Default

If you add in any After Effects plugins from CS6 into Edius if they are not latest versions they can crash Edius.

I would say the latest supported versions not just the latest versions.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3D Edius <--> After Effects Workflow hungaristani Editing with EDIUS 20 09-11-2012 05:54 AM
Nvidia 9800 GT or Nvidia Quadro NVS 295 nkoehne EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 3 01-04-2012 09:01 PM
NVIDIA 9800 GT vs 9600 GT caminostereo Editing with EDIUS 5 10-26-2008 11:33 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.