Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 05:23 PM   #1
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default Should I go for I9? currently have QC9650

Hi friends,

i read everyone is enjoying their I9 sandybridge workstations and im itching to get one myself. Is it worth it to upgrade now or wait till spring time?

i currently have a intel quadcore q9650 , 8 gigs of 1066 ram , 60gig ssd, nvidia gtx460 videocard,


i primarily work with 8 bit HDV at canopus hq fine quality. When I render a small clip with alot of effects it takes like 4-5 minutes. Can i cut that by alot?


thanks,
Chris
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 05:47 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,301
Default

Are you talking about the I7 Sandybridge on the Z68 chipset? Because the X79 chipset is out and the LGA 2011 Sandybridge E chips are out now.
It depends on what you need in a system. If you need raw grunt power to drive the editing part of Edius and the compositing part of AE the X79 would be a logical choice.
If you need decent editing power with really good encoding speed because of the Intel quick sync feature, the Z68 chipset and the Sandybridge chips would be your choice.
In March-April Ivy bridge will be released and it will work on the existing mobos that are out now (Z68 chipsets)1155 sockets.

That processor is faster than mine and my 6850 extreme works great with HDV. When you say render do you mean output or just rendering the segment that boggs down? If the latter is the case, the rendering speed will depend on what is contained in the area to be rendered. The more going on the more time to render. If you are outputting to MPEG2 HD, all 4 cores will be used and it will be quite fast.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 05:51 PM   #3
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

yes , i meant the I7 , Im new to product numbers on these chips. i just was on newegg and i couldnt find any i9's , why , because im a retard, lol they dont make i9.
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 05:53 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,301
Default

That designation was originally assigned to the I7's and then dropped before release.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 05:57 PM   #5
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

Thanks Jerry! That makes it even more difficult for me to choose now, lol

so when i render a bunch of clips together in my timeline that way it will play smooth in real time for viewing , is that the raw grunt x79 chipset?


thanks for the help,

Chris
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:11 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post
Thanks Jerry! That makes it even more difficult for me to choose now, lol

so when i render a bunch of clips together in my timeline that way it will play smooth in real time for viewing , is that the raw grunt x79 chipset?


thanks for the help,

Chris
If you are stacking more and more on top of each other with titles and different types of files, the X79 will have more raw grunt. The X58 chipsets with the 990x chip on it costs more(than the 1155 and Z68) but will do more layers and you might be able to get it cheaper than the X79....if that is what you need. It is older technology but the chips will not work on the LGA2011 socket. Sooo, you might want to also look in that direct as well.

Since you are using HDV, a Z68 system would probably work well for you.
Besides, it is cheaper. But, if you plan on moving to DSLR or something in that vein, and you would like to future proof that, X79 will give the most horsepower of the two platorms that are available now. Encoding will still be faster with the Z68 chipset. The best situation is to have both an X79 and a Z68 system. When you are done with your project output it to HQ and throw it to the Z68 system and encode. That is my eventual plan. I am going X79 after the first of the year. Actually, when the PCI-E 3.0 video cards are released.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:40 PM   #7
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

thanks for the great advice buddy!

Chris
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:45 PM   #8
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

so i7 2700 $369

motherboard with 4 or 8 ram slots? and what modules do you recommend if you have any recommendations.

with more ram help with the grunt work or is there a bottle neck.

sorry for all the questions, but building a good pc system has so many variables.
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 07:08 PM   #9
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226178

im thinking these are a good start and could always add more later as they become cheaper. You think thats a good idea?

Thanks,
Chris
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:14 AM   #10
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,360
Default

As ram is cheap I would fill it up to 12 or 16Gb.
It's always better (safer) to have ram produced from the same batch.

Now your worry would be the price of HDD's:)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.4 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.52
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 PRO X64 / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.