Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2008, 01:04 PM   #1
Imagine Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Default FIRECODER Blu, and encode times

Having a search round the net with regards to render times and PC SPEC I came across talk of this FIRECODER Blu card from TGV and looking at the advertising it seems this may be a good alternative for encoding for BLU-RAY from an EDIUS avi file.

The realtime encoding of SD when the hardware board for storm came out was a great boost to workflow times and there even seemed to be a quality boost over the available software encoders at the time!

Can we expect more of the same with FIRECODER Blu

Any more info?

a 2 hr blu-ray project was 6+ hrs in the encoding with 3.0 ghz quad cpu - I would like to cut that down - is FIRECODER Blu the way to go?
__________________
Asus P5K64WS, Intel Core 2 Quad QX6850 Extreme CPU, Saphire HD 3850 512mb graphics, WDraptor160 OS, Highpoint Rocket raid 2310 4 x 500gig Seagate sata 2 se drives in raid 0, NXe and Edius 5.51 Imaginate 2.
Procoder 3.06 and various Prodad add-ons

Last edited by Imagine Video; 11-21-2008 at 02:00 PM.
Imagine Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 07:57 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

In terms of time, it's supposed to be about 4-5 times faster than realtime to encode. I'm not sure if that's referring to both the H.264 encoding and the MPEG-2 encoding (remember, you can choose either format).

Is that a good enough improvement for you? :)
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 08:33 PM   #3
Imagine Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Default

WOOOHOOO.............Hem.......Yes I think so, will the quality be there also?

I have to say the mpeg daughter board for the storm was amazing! it was a revolution in encoding to mpeg 2 at realtime and there was IMO a quality increase.

when can we expect it in the uk?

and will it be able to be fitted in a pc with NXe already installed?


Cath
__________________
Asus P5K64WS, Intel Core 2 Quad QX6850 Extreme CPU, Saphire HD 3850 512mb graphics, WDraptor160 OS, Highpoint Rocket raid 2310 4 x 500gig Seagate sata 2 se drives in raid 0, NXe and Edius 5.51 Imaginate 2.
Procoder 3.06 and various Prodad add-ons
Imagine Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 08:40 PM   #4
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

It's shipping this/next week, so you'll see it very soon.

It requires a free PCIe x1 slot. There is no conflict with NX that I know of. This is likely because FIRECODER Blu does not directly interface with EDIUS software.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 12:17 AM   #5
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,510
Default

I'll be getting one very soon and believe me, I'm gonna give it a workout.
One thing i will be very inetrested in is.

Quote:
it's supposed to be about 4-5 times faster than realtime to encode
Is this Standard Definition or High Definition output?. Being that it's got a Blu-ray logo on it and it's called FireCoder BLU, IMO it is suggesting HD- but I don't believe it until i see it.

Note: The claim of 4-5x RT is for AVCHD to Mpeg. The claim for AVI to H264 is merely "better than realtime". Gosh if that's the case for HD output it is a winner IF, the files are compatible with Adobe Encore and DVDit PRO HD.

We will see, i hope this is not the biggest letdown of 2008.

I note also, the output file format is .m2ts which is not a file for Blu-ray authoring.

Something tells me next week i will be very happy or very dissapointed.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:33 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,605
Default

Hi Mark

if it this card satisfies you, can you send me one, I have a spare PCI-e slot
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:41 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,605
Default

and I hope it is capable of creating elementary streams with ac3
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:42 AM   #8
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,510
Default

Sure, (oh the pressures on now) :)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 02:11 AM   #9
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

yeah I might take one to Mark, after you test it all out, good on you mate.

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 02:27 AM   #10
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,510
Default

Apparently, half of the first lot are pre-ordered already here. Personally it's unwise until some guinee pig (ala me) has tested it out. So I'm happy to be that. :)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best presets for Blu ray rando ProCoder 4 10-11-2009 04:31 PM
Windows Media file exported under Edius 5 takes too long to encode ! soavsg Editing with EDIUS 10 02-11-2009 01:17 AM
Getting HDV to either DVD or Blu-Ray in HD ken7 Editing with EDIUS 7 01-04-2009 10:59 PM
procoder 3.05 and Blu ray Wheelo ProCoder 3 07-30-2008 12:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.