Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2008, 04:52 AM   #1
pgovotsos
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 72
Default Samsung AVCHD and Edius

Hello,
I'm trying to import some files from a Samsung SC-HMX10C and I get and error message "Failed to open file [could not open file] <filename>". I get this for SD and HD files. This camera records in AVCHD format and the files have an .mp4 extension. Attached is a short sample file of some papers on my desk.

Thanks,
Panagiotis
Attached Files
File Type: zip SDV_0014.zip (932.8 KB, 27 views)
pgovotsos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 04:55 PM   #2
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

Which version of Edius are you using?
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 06:27 PM   #3
pgovotsos
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 72
Default

Sorry, should have included that. I'm using the 4.61 trial - supposedly has Broadcast version features for 30 days (27 now).

Panagiotis
pgovotsos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 06:46 PM   #4
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

What version of quick time do you have installed?
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 09:31 PM   #5
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,163
Default

I don't think the SC-HMX10C records AVCHD. It is Samsung's version of H.264. AVCHD is a specific version of H.264 that also has some differences depending on manufacturer!!!

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 10:42 PM   #6
pgovotsos
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 72
Default

I've currently got Quicktime 7.2 on this machine. The documentation for the camera (and the box) say it records in AVCHD.

Thanks,
Panagiotis
pgovotsos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 11:27 PM   #7
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

AVCHD is .mts I think

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SC-HMX.../dp/B000MAQSD6

Read the reviews here it seems that someone said this does not record to the AVCHD specifications. Google is your friend :)

The only other option you have is to somehow convert these clips into Canopus HQ for playback.


EDIT:

Some quick research showed that if you install FFDSHOW it might play it back without a problem and it may load into EDIUS so you can convert to Canopus HQ from the bin.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 01:06 AM   #8
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,586
Default

Maybe the AVCHD to Canopus HQ Converter will do it -- it is more up-to-date than the AVCHD code in Edius itself.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 01:51 AM   #9
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THoff View Post
Maybe the AVCHD to Canopus HQ Converter will do it -- it is more up-to-date than the AVCHD code in Edius itself.
No, it does not work - I tried it. It will, however, load into QuickTime 7.5.

StormDave is on the right path, by suggesting FFDSHOW or perhaps using AVISynth to put it into PCE for conversion.

In any event, it's a funky form of AVC..
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 02:53 AM   #10
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pgovotsos View Post
I've currently got Quicktime 7.2 on this machine. The documentation for the camera (and the box) say it records in AVCHD.

Thanks,
Panagiotis

I would suggest that you install the latest version of quicktime and then check if you can open the file.

STeve
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVCHD into Edius 4.61 barry@bwvideofilms Editing with EDIUS 17 05-18-2011 01:49 AM
IBC Edius 5 vienna1944er Editing with EDIUS 0 09-11-2008 11:11 PM
EDIUS v4.5 Update and 30-day Trial Now Available! GrassValley_KH Editing with EDIUS 0 08-07-2007 12:26 AM
EDIUS v4.5 Update and 30-day Trial Now Available! GrassValley_KH Editing with EDIUS 0 08-07-2007 12:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.