Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2011, 01:48 AM   #1
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,444
Default 1440x1080i Mpeg2HD audio but no visual.

I have been successfully producing Mpeg2HD files from 1920x1080i HQfine master AVI files from the Edius 5.x & Edius 6.x timeline, using Anton's guided settings on his web page.

I have now some free time and have started to export 1440x1080i HQfine master AVI files with the same settings (meaning not up scaling) but it produces a black / no visual image but sound is present.
File size is also as expected close to 10Gb per hour for 25Mb CBR.

If imported back to the Edius timeline it actually has a visual picture that plays fine, also all the media info is the same as the 1920 Mpeg2HD files, except the they are originating from HDV so they are 1440.

Windows Media Player (yeah I know :)) or WDTV Live Hub can not play the visual, only the audio, actually, from what I have tried only Edius plays the visual.

I tried this first using a large compiled list in batch export, not having used batch extensively, I tested again using my normal tried & tested timeline export to no avail.

When I export the 1440x1080i HQfine master AVI files from a 1920 project timeline it plays fine with which ever media software player or hardware player.

Does my issue have something to do with non-square vs square pixel and am I messing up trying to leave the HDV HQ file in native frame resolution ?

Any advise is welcome, TIA.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:29 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,610
Default

I export to 1440x1080 50i HQ fine almost daily and it plays fine in WMP on the same PC as EDIUS

however, WMP plays the file with the wrong field order because Microsoft assume that all avi files are lower field first
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:42 AM   #3
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
I export to 1440x1080 50i HQ fine almost daily and it plays fine in WMP on the same PC as EDIUS
My HQfine AVI file is not the issue, that plays fine here also, it's the BluRay compatible 1440x1080i Mpeg2 HD file that doesn't show visual when exported from a 1440 project, but when exported from a 1920 project (with SIZE set to current setting) thus up-scaling the 1440 to 1920 it plays fine in WMP.

Now I'm all for leaving the exported file native (1440) but it doesn't seem to work, why ?
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:47 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundFreak_HD View Post
My HQfine AVI file is not the issue, that plays fine here also, it's the BluRay compatible 1440x1080i Mpeg2 HD file that doesn't show visual when exported from a 1440 project, but when exported from a 1920 project (with SIZE set to current setting) thus up-scaling the 1440 to 1920 it plays fine in WMP.

Now I'm all for leaving the exported file native (1440) but it doesn't seem to work, why ?

let me test quickly
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:52 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,610
Default

works fine here with mpeg HD ES at CBR 25mbits/sec

has Quicktime player hijacked the mpeg playback? or is there something else installed that could be stepping on the mpeg codec?

what is your WMP version? remember that WMP is a disaster since Windows NT

I actually test my mpeg HD encodes with Total Media Theater Ultimate as this is my software player to test DVD and Blu-ray from folder prior to burning, I use version 3, it lets you set 100% playback size, menaing you will see without scaling

they have eliminated this feature from version 5 so you will need to live with scaling artifacts, I complained to them but they heave deaf ears

forget PowerDVD, it does not allow folder playback of Blu-ray, I complained to them but they say it is against the law to allow it
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro

Last edited by antonsvideo; 12-31-2011 at 02:58 AM.
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 03:59 AM   #6
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,444
Default

Thanks for testing.

I only use WMP to test as this is supposed to work on every windows installation, so when I'm sending files to Europe it (most likely be fine to play on a viriety of XP, ME, Vista & 7 systems.

This is also my reason for using Mpeg2HD, more compatible.

Anyway, if you could test for me PS stream, which is actualy used by me to avoid users loosing the audio file when they copy out or move their video stream from a ES file.

Generally speaking if WMP can't play the file the WDTV won't play it either, I use this device a lot for file playback in Europe.

I have left my office so I can't check my WMP version, but have not manually updated this to the latest version.
This is my way of staying (sort of) with the same version of WMP as the main stream windows users who have automatic update activated.

I generally never use a pc to watch any video, just to create and verify, I'm still old fashioned and like a use a TV :)

If PS also works in your test then I'll have some investigation to do next year, now busy hauling beer to my 2 fridge, tonight is party time :)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:20 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,610
Default

will test now

and tonight is work time for me, you will find me behind one of the cameras in Sydney, possibly the one with the shaky and out of focus shots
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:32 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,610
Default

works perfect

WMP12 is playing it in a loop now with correct field order since WMP adheres to field order info of mpeg but not avi

btw, avi is a Microsoft invention and a Microsoft destruction when it comes to WMP

WMP in NT was great, it had a traditional file menu with instant access to all needed settings

WMP in Win7 etc was designed by the pretty boys who like to decorate things like a Xmas tree and remove all functions or hide them
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:33 AM   #9
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,444
Default

Don't drink & drive, don't shoot & drink (too much)

Happy working, happy new year !
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:35 AM   #10
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
will test now

and tonight is work time for me, you will find me behind one of the cameras in Sydney, possibly the one with the shaky and out of focus shots
Just stay away from the red wine mate,. my kids are relying on you
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC 110 for audio only: how to record with audio software? manofra ADVC 11 12-02-2011 12:24 PM
Still Image Visual Shift Mike Truly Editing with EDIUS 15 08-02-2007 04:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.