Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2007, 01:32 AM   #1
DVcatastrophe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 51
Default Best image size and format for Imaginate usage

What is the best image size (pixels) and graphics format to use a scanned image for manipulation in Imaginate? I've just scanned some articles (at about 1200dpi) but they are way too big, so what size should I shrink them to, and what format (.jpg, tif, .gif??)

Cheers
__________________
IntelDG965SSK mobo, nVidia7600GT, Intel E6420Core2Duo 2.13ghz, 1 meg DDR2 RAM, Canopus Storm2Pro, Edius 3.62.
DVcatastrophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 01:55 AM   #2
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

1200dpi is way too big. 300dpi is fine and you can zoom in pretty nicely. 600dpi is another good option, and I recommend that for smaller photos (less than 4x6, etc).

It all depends on how much you want to zoom into your photos. Obviously the higher the resolution, the more memory it eats and will make your PC choke if it's not fast enough.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 10:37 AM   #3
Bart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 308
Default

Imaginate "Installation and User Manual" - Chapter 1 - Introduction - p,3 says up to 25000 pixels on either axis (not both simultaneously)

FYI: I used a 15800 x 12000 psd file ( 538 MB) with succes => works faster with other formats - another test with a 18000 x 18000 image failed for all formats

File type: I've used targa, jpeg, tiff, bmp, psd => all work fine, but psd seams to be the slowest to open
__________________
Edius 9.52 Pro & 8.53 WG - Win 10 64 - AMD-Ryzen 9 3900X - 32 Gb DDR4 - ASUS-PRIME X570-PRO - Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER - SSD M.2 1000 Gb system + 3 x 3 Tb storage - 2 x 23" Full HD Monitors - M-Audio Studiophile AV40
Bart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 10:55 AM   #4
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

PSD uses lossless compression....JPEG is lossy and takes less space, so it should be the fastest load because it goes into memory. Bitmap has no compression, so it should be the fastest on the CPU, but still large and goes into the memory.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Procoder 3 aspect and size jonandmarkuk ProCoder 4 07-06-2007 08:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.