Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2018, 05:19 AM   #1
southskies
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Default ADVC300 and Edius Pro

Up to now I have been capturing my VHS tape images using the ADVC 300 running on XP. I then use Handbrake on Win 7 to compress and reformat the file.

Raw file is around 32Gb, avi.
Compression through handbrake gets it down to around 200K, mkv file. I can rename the mkv back to avi, and it works through old TVs.

My ultimate usage is always TV. My target is always around 300K for a 3 hrs tape.

It has been suggested that I use Edius rather than Handbrake, as it is easier to use, and I'll get a better picture. So, I've downloaded Edius 9.0 Trial and will have a go with this.

Does anyone have any screen shots of what settings I should be using? What frame rates, bit rates should I be using in EDIUS? There are more settings than what you can poke a stick at.

I'm hoping to get some kind of set and forget settings and steps that I can use to bring the raw file in, for me to perhaps do chopping of the clip, then to export it out.

Any suggestions on where I start?
southskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 05:29 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,083
Default

are you in an NTSC or Pal country?

if Pal, 25 fps top field first (50i) for VHS capture, 720x576
if NTSC, 29.97 fps with top field first (59.94i), 720x480 for DV or 720x486 for non DV
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:42 AM   #3
southskies
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Default

Hi Anton, I'm in Australia, so will go with PAL settings
southskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 03:46 PM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
are you in an NTSC or Pal country?

if Pal, 25 fps top field first (50i) for VHS capture, 720x576
if NTSC, 29.97 fps with top field first (59.94i), 720x480 for DV or 720x486 for non DV
Since you are in Australia this doesn't apply to you, but I wanted to make a North America specific correction to Anton's post for others.

In NTSC land (North America):

HD 1920x1080 59.94i is always top field first with 0 IRE black.

720x480 DV is always bottom field first, with a 0 IRE black.(adopted directly from the Japanese NTSC-J, 0 IRE black and doesn't conform to the 7.5 IRE used in 720x486).

720x486, used more for SD Analog signals, can be either top or bottom field first with a 7.5 IRE black (NTSC-J, aka Japanese NTSC, regions use 0 IRE black), and different manufacturers have implemented the field dominance in different ways. some allow you to choose, while some are fixed. (ie. if I capture SD 720x486i at my day job with media composer using Avid 1:1 uncompressed, it is bottom field first.)

It's wonderful when the NTSC standard has no standard. Unlike PAL, whose minor variants are usually related to broadcast subcarrier frequencies or channel bandwidths, there are actually several variations on NTSC used throughout the world, such as NTSC-M, NTSC-J, and PAL-M, (PAL-M is actually just a little tweak of NTSC as it uses the same framerate and resolution), that usually have more changes than just the broadcast frequencies, so that even in the digital post production world there are differences to deal with.
__________________
Edius WG 9.20.3340 & 8.53.3262, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Seagate system HDD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)

Last edited by BernH; 06-11-2018 at 08:35 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:08 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,083
Default

Pal DV is also bottom field first but you never us a bottom field first project setting unless you intend to print to DV tape

so project setting always upper field regardless of source field order

also, when I capture VHS via my Matrox MX02 to GV HQ, the field order is upper field right away

only if using DVD capture from firewire or ADVC products, the files will be bottom field
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 02:44 PM   #6
southskies
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Default

Wow, I've already started to get a headache and have only just finished getting my PC all properly backed up before I start.
southskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC300 - No full connection with Premiere Pro CS3 chimimic ADVC 17 04-18-2018 02:58 PM
ADVC300 - Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 no HDV Capture rlcarter ADVC 3 03-08-2010 07:06 PM
ADVC300 audio level with Edius engineer16 Editing with EDIUS 2 05-20-2009 11:04 PM
Final Cut Pro & ADVC300 Set uo rick200017 ADVC 0 04-03-2008 01:11 AM
ADVC300 - video signal from ADVC300 is turned in black / white. MichielM ADVC 2 09-11-2007 12:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.