Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2019, 06:54 AM   #1
swvideo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 2
Default Simplified Layouter Interface

Hello,

I am an experienced editor, but a new user to EDIUS, and I have been scouring the internet, including these forums, the help documentation, and youtube, for what should be a very simple issue.

I want to zoom in on some of my footage. However, my layouter looks completely different from every other instance of the layouter I have seen on the internet. It looks like this:

Click to Enlarge

I don't know why it looks like this. There are no options for zooming or rotation, and I don't know how to change the layouter to have more options... No one else on the internet has had this problem, the help documentation does not make any mention of a "simplified" interface or the like, and I have not changed any settings since performing a clean install.

There doesn't seem to be anyone else with this problem. I'm completely baffled as to why my interface has less features than every other example I have looked up. I just want to zoom in.

I figure maybe I'm using a strange version with less features since this code was given to me by my employer. I am using EDIUS Workgroup 9, Version 9.40.5106. Still, it doesn't make sense why there is no distinction between versions in the manual.

Any help would be appreciated,
Sean

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 11-12-2019 at 04:18 PM.
swvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 03:45 PM   #2
Alphabeta
Senior Member
 
Alphabeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Accra
Posts: 127
Default

try putting your video files on the V or VA tracks instead of the T tracks, T tracks are meant for titles which gives you a simplified layouter window.
__________________
EDIUS 7.5 /Win 8.1 x64 HP Z600 INTEL Xeon 12 core @2.66GHz 16GB RAM /NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 760, WD 1TB PRIMARY, WD 5.5TB STORAGE, 2x WD500GB ASSETS, heroglyph 4.0, Sony AVCHD cam, Canon DSLRs.
Sys 2: Asus ROG G75series
Alphabeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 04:38 PM   #3
LewS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lake Worth FL
Posts: 528
Default

It is also best to put titles on video tracks so you have the full layouter to use on them. Also, titles on T tracks don't always scale correctly if you change the resolution of your project. The only downside is you will have to manually apply your fade in/out to the titles. The T track is great if you need to put a bug in the corner of your video as it is always on top of all other tracks.
__________________
Edius Workgroup 9.51, Intel I7-3930K 3.20GHz, Intel X79 MB, 16-GB Mem, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, BM Mini-Monitor (HD) Card, Win 10 Pro
LewS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 05:02 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,683
Default

Despite the popular belief that titles in the title track do not scale properly, there happens to be a scaling feature for the the title track that was added a while back.
Right click on the title in the title track to open the 'Title Detail Setting.'

Then click the 'Auto' Radio button to activate scaling.

All of that said, it would be to your advantage to use title tracks for your titles. I strongly recommend that.
Attached Images
File Type: png Title Track Detail Setting.png (33.9 KB, 15 views)
File Type: png Resize Title Setting to Auto.png (15.5 KB, 24 views)
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 11-12-2019 at 05:22 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:03 PM   #5
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
Despite the popular belief that titles in the title track do not scale properly, there happens to be a scaling feature for the the title track that was added a while back.
Right click on the title in the title track to open the 'Title Detail Setting.'

Then click the 'Auto' Radio button to activate scaling.

All of that said, it would be to your advantage to use title tracks for your titles. I strongly recommend that.
Correct we explained this a few times. Thanks for explaining it again. :)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:12 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,683
Default

Hey, you corrected me. I remember those things :)
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:21 PM   #7
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,953
Default

For my work flow I have deleted the title track. I always use the V tracks for graphics and titles then all the parameters are available to use from filters etc.

Big advantage of title track is it is always on top so for simple titles etc it is great.

I like to create stacked titles using layouter to fly in graphics and text and certainly find V tracks better for this. For me, source video is always on VA tracks ( audio always muted ), graphics and titles on V tracks and audio on A tracks. The V tracks are still on top in this approach unless deliberately disabled.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 07:06 PM   #8
LewS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lake Worth FL
Posts: 528
Default

The only problem with changing the resizing in detail settings is you have to remember to apply it to all tiles. It cannot be set universally.
__________________
Edius Workgroup 9.51, Intel I7-3930K 3.20GHz, Intel X79 MB, 16-GB Mem, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, BM Mini-Monitor (HD) Card, Win 10 Pro
LewS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 10:35 PM   #9
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LewS View Post
The only problem with changing the resizing in detail settings is you have to remember to apply it to all tiles. It cannot be set universally.

Therfore I follow Ron Evans ...
Regards kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 WG / Mercalli (V2, V4 and V5 Plugin/64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 04:13 AM   #10
swvideo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 2
Default Resolved

Yes, that was the issue. Moving the clip to a new video track gives me the correct interface.

Thank you for your help
Sean
swvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interface changes from 5 to 6? sandman300 Editing with EDIUS 7 12-21-2011 09:02 PM
The interface? Mark Editing with EDIUS 12 12-07-2007 07:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.