Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2019, 11:10 PM   #1
Illiance
Member
 
Illiance's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 82
Default Changing Layouter Default

What with 4K video and all, I find myself wanting to set the zoom factor in the Layouter to either 5 or 10% quite a bit in a project. Is there any way to either 1: Change the default from the present 26.53% to a setting of my choosing or, 2: At least have the 5 or 10% show up in the dropdown menu (the lowest is 25%). It would save a lot of constant flailing around - highlighting the zoom factor box every-time I open it up and typing in my preference, etc.

I have a feeling it's not possible as I couldn't find any dialogue under any of the Settings menus. Just wondering, as the higher resolution media we are working with these days leaves us a LOT of latitude in working with it.
Thanks
__________________
Hermit's Lair Media Productions LLC
Desktop: Edius 8.3 Intel Core i7 / i7-4790 Windows 10 / 32GB DDR3 SDRAM, CineRAID w/ 4 4TB HDD's @ RAID5
Laptop: Edius 8.3 / ALIENWARE 17 - Intel i7-4910MQ Processor 2.9GHz 32GB Dual Channel DDR3L at 1600MHz RAM, 2TB RAID 0 5400RPM + 80GB mSATA SSD Caching, Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit) 17.3" WLED FHD , 8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M Graphics
"Those who danced were thought to be quite insane by those who could not hear the music"~John Milton
Illiance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 11:33 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,686
Default

I would recommend using the transform filter and set it up for your particular settings.
The only adjustment should be the position. If you do a zoom, you will need to adjust two positon points.

Then right click on the Transform instance within the information panel and select 'save as current user preset.' After that, rename the effect for easy reference.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 11:57 PM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

I think the OP is referring to the zoom of the layouter preview and not the scale of the video?
Attached Images
File Type: png Anton-00103.png (8.7 KB, 36 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 06:01 PM   #4
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 429
Default

I too wish there was a way to change the default zoom for the layouter window.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 03:17 AM   #5
Illiance
Member
 
Illiance's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 82
Default

I find myself constantly having to click in the Layouter percentage window and change it to 10% to give me sufficient handles to adjust my footage using 4K footage on a HD project. I also would like to be able to set the default percentage in this respect.
__________________
Hermit's Lair Media Productions LLC
Desktop: Edius 8.3 Intel Core i7 / i7-4790 Windows 10 / 32GB DDR3 SDRAM, CineRAID w/ 4 4TB HDD's @ RAID5
Laptop: Edius 8.3 / ALIENWARE 17 - Intel i7-4910MQ Processor 2.9GHz 32GB Dual Channel DDR3L at 1600MHz RAM, 2TB RAID 0 5400RPM + 80GB mSATA SSD Caching, Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit) 17.3" WLED FHD , 8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M Graphics
"Those who danced were thought to be quite insane by those who could not hear the music"~John Milton
Illiance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 05:08 AM   #6
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,956
Default

I think the issue with cropping the UHD image in a HD project ( that's what I do all the time ) is that layouter is backwards for this approach. I would like to see the full UHD image with a HD outline that I can move around or scale. In fact this is how Vegas deals with this. The outline ( representing the HD image can be scaled to the full UHD image ( 50% in layouter ) or zoomed into as needed ( outline gets smaller).
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
layouter default to crop? awm129 Editing with EDIUS 13 12-04-2017 06:00 AM
Default view in Layouter? Olaf Editing with EDIUS 7 09-28-2014 12:56 PM
Changing the default exporter amkm717 Editing with EDIUS 1 08-20-2013 07:50 AM
Changing the video default highlight/removal back to 5.5 KostasMetaxas Editing with EDIUS 3 01-26-2011 10:13 PM
Changing default folder for project asperante Editing with EDIUS 1 11-18-2010 11:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.