Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2019, 06:59 AM   #1
wolf10851
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default Edius crash as soon as a user tries to import

We have a user that as soon as she tries to import anything Edius crashes. I tried under my profile on her machine and as soon as I clicked on the bin it brought up the explore window to look for files but as soon as I clicked anywhere (this PC, Desktop, etc) Edius crashed. I need to get this user back and running so she can do her job. Nothing has changed on her machine recently and it was working just fine until yesterday (but she didn't report it until today)
wolf10851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 02:42 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf10851 View Post
We have a user that as soon as she tries to import anything Edius crashes. I tried under my profile on her machine and as soon as I clicked on the bin it brought up the explore window to look for files but as soon as I clicked anywhere (this PC, Desktop, etc) Edius crashed. I need to get this user back and running so she can do her job. Nothing has changed on her machine recently and it was working just fine until yesterday (but she didn't report it until today)
Before anyone can make any suggestions aside from the basics of error checking the disc, or the sometimes overkill of re-install edius and/or quicktime and/or windows, more information is needed.

Edius version? Windows version? Type of files being imported? Maybe some info about the computer hardware?

You have essentially just called up a mechanic and said "my vehicle is broke", but didn't tell him anything about what is wrong with the vehicle, what kind of vehicle it is, where the vehicle is, etc.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 11:44 PM   #3
wolf10851
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default

Actually I kind of have to disagree with your statement Bern. Aside from edius version (which is 8.5) I have given the exact description of what is happening. as for what video files.....that doesn't matter because the lock up happens before I can select any files. as for windows version she is on 1803 as for machine type it is an HP zbook
wolf10851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 09:11 PM   #4
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 429
Default

Start a new project and see if the problem persists.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 09:47 PM   #5
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf10851 View Post
Actually I kind of have to disagree with your statement Bern. Aside from edius version (which is 8.5) I have given the exact description of what is happening. as for what video files.....that doesn't matter because the lock up happens before I can select any files. as for windows version she is on 1803 as for machine type it is an HP zbook
Dan, I have been building, selling, servicing, and training people in the use of edit systems for about 25 years, and I can tell you from those 25 years of experience, without knowing those details it is hard give meaningful advice aside from the basics, and basics are usually not enough when faced with an odd problem. The video file type can make difference, even if you don't actually click on something because if they are visible in the browser window, Windows may be trying to scan them to build thumbnails.

That said, aside from the basics already mentioned by me and Jim, I would suggest that you try an edius re-install and a quicktime re-install, but make sure your virus scanner is disabled during the edius re-install, as they can sometimes interfere with the edius installer. Disabling the virus scanner is a recommendation in the edius install instructions. I have had mixed results installing with a virus scanner working. Sometimes it's ok, sometimes not.

The Edius and Windows versions make a big difference, as Edius versions prior to V8 were not approved for Win10. Some people have made older versions work, but there is no guarantee that they will. In your case they should work.

Also, since you are talking Win10, I would suggest you implement the tweaking steps in the pdf link that Jerry has in his signature, as this can help windows perform better and keep forced updates from breaking edius. Here is the link, I hope Jerry doesn't mind me pasting it here. http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

There is a fine balance to be found with a system for optimum performance and stability, and there are many things that can interfere with it. For example, recent driver/software updates from Win10, or even new software that you intentionally installed. Windows architecture "under the hood" allows programs to share common files such as .dll files, and sometimes a new software can overwrite a file with a different version than another software requires. Re-installing the broken software often fixes the issue, but sometimes it can break the new software.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 10:43 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,691
Default

If you want help, you need to give as much information as possible.
Haven't you wondered why you haven't had many responses?

How about uploading a sample file to see if any one else gets the crash.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 12:48 AM   #7
wolf10851
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default

kind of funny how I HAVE provided windows ver and edius ver yet everyone wants to jump on the band wagon and say that I need to provide that information hint: read my second post in this thread
wolf10851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 01:19 AM   #8
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,770
Default

Have you tried a new project? New Profile (from scratch)? Any auto windows updates that happened?
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 01:29 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,122
Default

Win10 1803 needs updating to latest release

does she use a third party anti virus or anti malware program? it sounds like something is getting blocked

did she run a registry cleaner, that could have destroyed EDIUS and a reinstallation will fix it

meanwhile, open EDIUS and go to help menu and generate a system report and attach it here
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 01:54 AM   #10
wolf10851
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
Win10 1803 needs updating to latest release
our corporate policy is only allowing us to upgrade to 1803 for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
does she use a third party anti virus or anti malware program? it sounds like something is getting blocked
We only use crowdstrike here at work and that is not blocking access to any of the files

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
did she run a registry cleaner, that could have destroyed EDIUS and a reinstallation will fix it
she does not have admin rights to run a registry cleaner......plus I don't think she is quite computer savy enough to even know about them

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
meanwhile, open EDIUS and go to help menu and generate a system report and attach it here
How can I attach the zip file?
wolf10851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New user - problem with DVD import bhouse Editing with EDIUS 8 03-22-2012 02:20 AM
User Preset Import Help Bassman Editing with EDIUS 2 01-20-2012 08:11 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.