Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2011, 03:57 AM   #1
NoobieGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 111
Default Editing guitar notes

Hi,

I know Edius is more of a video editor, but I now need to record 7 notes from my guitar (A B C# D E F# and G#) would you recommend I do this via edius or can you recommend some other software?

Thanks!
__________________
Using Edius 6.01.
Machine 1:(NEW) Intel i7 3,4GHZ (OC'ed to 4.4GHZ), 16GB RAM,60GB SSD, EVGA 1GB graphics card. Win7 Ultimate (64 bit). Two 22" monitors.
Machine 2: Laptop, Intel i5 (4 cores), 4gb RAM.Win7 Ultimate (64 bit).
Real men use PCs not fruits or what goes under a baby's butt... ;o)

Learning Edius & working on a project at the same time (best way to learn!).
My journey is ongoing thanks to the kind people helping on this forum.

Greetz from Sweden!
NoobieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 04:25 AM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Do you have Audition, Soundforge, or some other audio editing software?
I would recommend that way first.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 04:27 AM   #3
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Edius will do them all except "A"
(kidding)
You mean an audio-only capture?
Back in the RexAudio days the answer would be yes...
Hook up any firewire camera and capture away.
:~/
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:18 AM   #4
NoobieGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 111
Default

Ok, tried via Edius (and my computers mic) it's editing without a problem... but only for basic stuff like cutting the beginning/end to where i need it... nothing to make the sound more clear or anything.

> Do you have Audition, Soundforge, or some other audio editing software?
nope, but I can download that. Which do you recommend?

> Edius will do them all except "A"
:D
__________________
Using Edius 6.01.
Machine 1:(NEW) Intel i7 3,4GHZ (OC'ed to 4.4GHZ), 16GB RAM,60GB SSD, EVGA 1GB graphics card. Win7 Ultimate (64 bit). Two 22" monitors.
Machine 2: Laptop, Intel i5 (4 cores), 4gb RAM.Win7 Ultimate (64 bit).
Real men use PCs not fruits or what goes under a baby's butt... ;o)

Learning Edius & working on a project at the same time (best way to learn!).
My journey is ongoing thanks to the kind people helping on this forum.

Greetz from Sweden!
NoobieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:23 AM   #5
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

You can do what you need with Audacity.
For clearer sound, mic closely in a quiet room.
Do several takes with different recording volumes.
The cleanest may be the quietest original recording.
Add volume in Audacity and you're good to go.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:26 AM   #6
NoobieGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 111
Default

Thanks for the advise guys!

Will try and write back if I hit a brick wall.

Cheers!
__________________
Using Edius 6.01.
Machine 1:(NEW) Intel i7 3,4GHZ (OC'ed to 4.4GHZ), 16GB RAM,60GB SSD, EVGA 1GB graphics card. Win7 Ultimate (64 bit). Two 22" monitors.
Machine 2: Laptop, Intel i5 (4 cores), 4gb RAM.Win7 Ultimate (64 bit).
Real men use PCs not fruits or what goes under a baby's butt... ;o)

Learning Edius & working on a project at the same time (best way to learn!).
My journey is ongoing thanks to the kind people helping on this forum.

Greetz from Sweden!
NoobieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:36 AM   #7
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Mic placement is crucial to get a good recording. You want it as close to the sound source (for guitar - it is the sound board), but not so close until the mic picks up the fingers rubbing against the nylon strings. And do the recording in a room as quiet as possible.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:40 AM   #8
NoobieGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
Mic placement is crucial to get a good recording. You want it as close to the sound source (for guitar - it is the sound board), but not so close until the mic picks up the fingers rubbing against the nylon strings. And do the recording in a room as quiet as possible.
Its for an (undistroted/no effects) electric guitar... so I'm guessing about 10 inches away from the amp? (I cant do it now as its 5 30 am, I'm guessing the neighbors _might_ complain :D

I need the notes for a Java educational game I am making (so quality is not of the utmost importance) that I hope to get into the Android/iphone marketplace ,eventually.
__________________
Using Edius 6.01.
Machine 1:(NEW) Intel i7 3,4GHZ (OC'ed to 4.4GHZ), 16GB RAM,60GB SSD, EVGA 1GB graphics card. Win7 Ultimate (64 bit). Two 22" monitors.
Machine 2: Laptop, Intel i5 (4 cores), 4gb RAM.Win7 Ultimate (64 bit).
Real men use PCs not fruits or what goes under a baby's butt... ;o)

Learning Edius & working on a project at the same time (best way to learn!).
My journey is ongoing thanks to the kind people helping on this forum.

Greetz from Sweden!
NoobieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:47 AM   #9
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Oh - I thought you are recording a classical guitar. If you are using a electric guitar, why not tap off the electric guitar's own amp in that case?
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:52 AM   #10
NoobieGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
Oh - I thought you are recording a classical guitar. If you are using a electric guitar, why not tap off the electric guitar's own amp in that case?
It's a tiny little practice amp, and since I have never recorded to computer before am not really sure how to do it.

With sound my only experience is "Sound Recorder" which comes with windows 7.
__________________
Using Edius 6.01.
Machine 1:(NEW) Intel i7 3,4GHZ (OC'ed to 4.4GHZ), 16GB RAM,60GB SSD, EVGA 1GB graphics card. Win7 Ultimate (64 bit). Two 22" monitors.
Machine 2: Laptop, Intel i5 (4 cores), 4gb RAM.Win7 Ultimate (64 bit).
Real men use PCs not fruits or what goes under a baby's butt... ;o)

Learning Edius & working on a project at the same time (best way to learn!).
My journey is ongoing thanks to the kind people helping on this forum.

Greetz from Sweden!
NoobieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proxy Editing/field editing rando Editing with EDIUS 17 12-07-2010 09:09 PM
A/B Editing vs Insert Editing TrackRanger Editing with EDIUS 19 02-17-2010 09:50 PM
FCB product-site updatet concerning Hardware/Software Compatibility Notes CentralEurope FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 1 08-20-2009 03:36 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.