Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   Editing with EDIUS (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   No Audio showing on timeline (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=913)

skier-hughes 06-08-2007 01:41 PM

No Audio showing on timeline
 
Now I have stable hardware I can't quite figure this problem out.

I've searched the forum, but no joy.

I've skim read the manual but haven't found anything yet.

I can capture a file via firewire on the nx bay, whilst it's capturing I can hear the audio both from the cam and the pc speakers.
When I drop the file on the timeline, there is no audio waveform to see, and no audio to hear.

Playing the video file in WMP results in audio, so it is there, I just can't figure out what I need to change in Edius.

I don't have any of my test projects from yesterday when I could hear the audio, as I deleted them all :(

I also cannot add a music file to the audio tracks.

I think somehwre the whole audio is turned off or set to the wrong setting, but I just can't find it.

I've been through the project settings
NHX-E2 SD PAL
DV 50i
Video 720x576
25
1.0667
bottom field first
Audio 48khz
16 bit
channel 2

rendering dv-avi
tc 00000
non drop frame
audio reference level -20db

Channel map is set to default settings.

I've searched the forum, but could only find a keyboard shortcut for waveform shoing, which just turns on or off the view of the audio track.

I've looked through hardware settings, but can't find anything particualrly audio related, but have set everything to default, which they were anyway, apart from video overlay.

I'm going to start a totally new project and see if that helps.

It hasn't helped, still no good.

I can double click either the video file or the audio file and watch/listen to them in the preview window!!

I've tried using disc capture and captured one track from a music cd adn it again plays in the preview window when d/clicked but I still get a cross when trying to add it to an audio track.

It's as if all the audio is locked somehow.... But the padlocks aren't pressed, mute is not pressed.....

Graham

pjsssss 06-08-2007 02:10 PM

Do you have a file and just no waveform or no audio file at all?

Make sure the orange A button is depessed above the timeline and then go to one of the little "a"s on the left side of the timeline one one of the racks and clidk on clear all tracks.

skier-hughes 06-08-2007 02:16 PM

I suspect the orange button should be depressed and be orange rather than white, which it was.
I can now add the music file to the audio track, but the video audio is still a light grey box with the blue line at the top, no waveform at all.

pjsssss 06-08-2007 02:20 PM

When you dbl clk on the file in the bin and play it in the window does it have audio?

skier-hughes 06-08-2007 02:21 PM

yes it does.

pjsssss 06-08-2007 02:24 PM

Good. Then your problem is getting it to the timeline. I am firing up Edius right now to be more specific but did you clear all tracks on the left side of the timeline with the little a?

skier-hughes 06-08-2007 02:26 PM

Did you mean the captial A just to the left of the audio track, I right clicked it and chose clear all tracks.

pjsssss 06-08-2007 02:30 PM

So if no A is highlighted in the timeline and the A above the timeline is depressed try dragging the clip to the timeline agian and see if you have audio

skier-hughes 06-08-2007 02:40 PM

still no audio

skier-hughes 06-08-2007 03:08 PM

Got it.

Started a enw project, cleared all tracks, captured a new piece of video, and audio is present. Imported piece from when it wasn't working, and audio is there.

Cheers,

graham

Zorro 06-08-2007 04:08 PM

Good news! I think Pat deserves a dress now ;-)))

pjsssss 06-08-2007 04:16 PM

Glad to hear all is working with Edius. Hopefully that clears up everything and you can get on with your editing.

LOL Christian... BTW, I hope to visit Austria with my family this summer or next.

skier-hughes 06-08-2007 04:20 PM

What's your colour Pat :-0

LegalEyes 06-08-2007 04:24 PM

Not to hijack the thread But..............

When I put an edit on the 1VA I hear audio but see no waveform, I also can not use rubberbands or pan the audio. If I split up the edit and put the audio on a dedicated audio line I can do all the above. Am I missing something (of course I am)

Thanks

pjsssss 06-08-2007 04:37 PM

Try a couple of different clips and see if they are all that way. I assume you have the audio expanded?
Also try a music clip. Also make sure you clear all mapping tracks.

Zorro 06-08-2007 04:42 PM

Quote:

BTW, I hope to visit Austria with my family this summer or next.
Really? If you need anything just drop me a PM and you'll get the best treatment you can think of!

GrassValley_KH 06-08-2007 05:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LegalEyes (Post 4670)
Not to hijack the thread But..............

When I put an edit on the 1VA I hear audio but see no waveform, I also can not use rubberbands or pan the audio. If I split up the edit and put the audio on a dedicated audio line I can do all the above. Am I missing something (of course I am)

Thanks

Two things:

1. To adjust rubberbands, and view the waveform, you first need to expand the audio track view for that track - look for the little triangular buttons. Once that's done, you can then click the Vol/Pan button repeatedly to toggle between the different rubberband modes

2. Have you disabled the waveform display? It's a little button to the left of the track, sort of looks like -^v-

GrassValley_MD 06-08-2007 05:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LegalEyes (Post 4670)
Not to hijack the thread But..............

When I put an edit on the 1VA I hear audio but see no waveform, I also can not use rubberbands or pan the audio. If I split up the edit and put the audio on a dedicated audio line I can do all the above. Am I missing something (of course I am)

Thanks


If you look over at the track name area on a V/A track you will see to arrows. Try left clicking on the first one and see if that doesn't open up the wave form for you :)


Mike

LegalEyes 06-08-2007 10:23 PM

I was clicking the wrong arrow. I told you I was missing something.


Thanks,

You all are very helpful


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.