Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   Editing with EDIUS (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Edius System Folder has 'transferred' folder 300 gig (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=44321)

tryingtolearn 02-10-2020 07:24 PM

Edius System Folder has 'transferred' folder 300 gig
 
Hey guys, so I'm about to upgrade my laptop from 8 to 9, and I was making sure I was backing up all my settings / presets etc first

Well my Edius System Folder is on my D drive (to keep my SSD C drive running fast) and I was shocked to see that it was 309 gig!
I narrowed it down to a folder inside of Edius System Folder called "transferred"

it appears to just be duplicate folders that I didn't personally create. AVI and MOV files that were never copied by me to there..
does Edius duplicate files while it's editing on the backend?
is this just rubbish cache I can erase?

bit confused

thank you in advance to everyone who replies

I'm wondering if there's some weird setting causing it to duplicate but I have not messed with any settings?

The videos I was editing were on an extranal drive - not my internal d drive

GrassValley_SL 02-10-2020 08:12 PM

This only happens if you have transfer to project folder selected.
That will transfer all media that was imported with the setting on.

antonsvideo 02-10-2020 11:14 PM

you mean EDIUS project folder, not system folder

if you use source browser to transfer files from a card to bin, it will created a transferred folder and this is where your clips will be

if you delete them, they will be missing in your project

GrassValley_PS 02-11-2020 02:23 AM

In addition to what Steve and Antom stated, I am betting that if you are adding clips to the Bin (double clicking or right clicking and selecting Add clip) you are not paying attention to the "Transfef to Project Foldrr" box in the middle of the windows navigation box.

Remember that anytime you see the word "transfer" in EDIUS it means copy. So if that box is checked, it is copying the files that come into the Bin. That box opens in the last used state, so always pay attention to it.

ANY file that is copied (whether from the Bin or Source Briwser) saves in the Transferred folder.

Ron Evans 02-11-2020 01:23 PM

Also they will be the files used on the timeline so if you then delete that folder from the project folder the clips will go " Off line " in the timeline. To confuse that issue they have different naming too so replacing with the real files will not work.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.