Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   Editing with EDIUS (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Layering video in timeline (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39171)

kruzer 12-30-2016 09:33 AM

Layering video in timeline
 
OK, I have difficulty explaining what I am trying to do in Edit.
So, here we go as an example question:

I have two video clip time-line open. Both have video clips.
What I'd like to do is 'layer' or merge both of the clips, so it will be displayed the same time. I tried to MIX the two time-line but at 50% both clips are just 50% visible. I need 100% visible both clips.

How can I make both clips (or two to five clips) appear the same strength of appearance ?

Opening PIP is not what I need... Both has to be 100%

Thanks guys!

kpot 12-30-2016 09:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kruzer (Post 287481)
OK, I have difficulty explaining what I am trying to do in Edit.
So, here we go as an example question:

I have two video clip time-line open. Both have video clips.
What I'd like to do is 'layer' or merge both of the clips, so it will be displayed the same time. I tried to MIX the two time-line but at 50% both clips are just 50% visible. I need 100% visible both clips.

How can I make both clips (or two to five clips) appear the same strength of appearance ?

Opening PIP is not what I need... Both has to be 100%

Thanks guys!

What happens if you overlap and see two slides?

BernH 12-31-2016 03:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kruzer (Post 287481)
OK, I have difficulty explaining what I am trying to do in Edit.
So, here we go as an example question:

I have two video clip time-line open. Both have video clips.
What I'd like to do is 'layer' or merge both of the clips, so it will be displayed the same time. I tried to MIX the two time-line but at 50% both clips are just 50% visible. I need 100% visible both clips.

How can I make both clips (or two to five clips) appear the same strength of appearance ?

Opening PIP is not what I need... Both has to be 100%

Thanks guys!

Are you saying that both clips need to be completely visible with no opacity adjustments, and both need to be full frame? If so, it is impossible to see both without some kind of intermixing between the two.

If opacity adjustment is not what you want, try playing with the blend modes/filters on the mix track of the upper clip. They can produce some interesting results, but I'm not sure if it is what you are looking for either.

ulyssesvideo 12-31-2016 09:23 AM

what you trying to do is not possible.. if both clips are 100% then only the clip on the top layer will show.

kruzer 12-31-2016 08:30 PM

Thank you for your advice.
Yes, both clips to be visible at the same time.

I have experimented with MIX function at 50% each, and both visible but not quite bright enough... maybe that's all I can get.

Thanks again !
Happy new year :)

kruzer 12-31-2016 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BernH (Post 287524)
Are you saying that both clips need to be completely visible with no opacity adjustments, and both need to be full frame? If so, it is impossible to see both without some kind of intermixing between the two.

If opacity adjustment is not what you want, try playing with the blend modes/filters on the mix track of the upper clip. They can produce some interesting results, but I'm not sure if it is what you are looking for either.

Thank you kindly, I will try your suggestion :)
Yes, I am looking for 'interesting' results.

EDIT:
Tried your suggestion. It is not possible to have 100% opacity on both video clips.
If I were to drop a still image in the Title line it will show it that way, but a video won't work... obviously.

Happy new year!

BernH 12-31-2016 08:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kruzer (Post 287537)
Thank you for your advice.
Yes, both clips to be visible at the same time.

I have experimented with MIX function at 50% each, and both visible but not quite bright enough... maybe that's all I can get.

Thanks again !
Happy new year :)

If you set the mix/opacity to 50% on each clip, you will actually end up letting some of the black/no video in from the adjustment on layer 1. Don't adjust the opacity on the bottom clip. This will keep the black out and make the whole image brighter.

NakedEye 12-31-2016 08:36 PM

Try the blend modes by dropping keyers on the tracks.

kruzer 01-01-2017 05:35 PM

Thank you all for the suggestions.
Tried all kinds methods, but not able to make it happen what I wanted.
So, I will give up on this and move on to other things :)
Edius is still the best editor.

Wish you all a prosperous and happy new year!

Tobe 01-02-2017 01:09 AM

Perhaps you are seeking two images side by side on the screen? With each taking 1/2 of the screen. If so, it's simply a matter of layering the video - each on one V track and adjusting the layouter for each to make each image fit half the screen. I often do this.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.