Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   An alternative way of using FCB? (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28033)

Hawke 10-10-2012 09:59 PM

An alternative way of using FCB?
 
Thank you very much GrassValley_PS that was very helpful! I agree with your statement but I asked a question which has not been answered - yes I have already heard all those answers but nothing with any detail. FCB was a very expensive board and I now want to make use of it in the best way possible if I update to 6.5. I want some informative and useful detailed advice how about it shueardm or Anton.
Thanks in advance.

THoff 10-11-2012 12:19 AM

You can continue to leverage the Firecoder board if you use TMPGEnc's encoders with the Spursengine plugin.

shueardm 10-11-2012 12:37 AM

THoff is correct. In fact it is probably quicker when not used with EDIUS as EDIUS workflow is a plugin which adds headroom.

Simply get an older PC and install FCB in it, If you don't have one, build one with low spec pieces, 2GB RAM is plenty, a Celeron CPU for $50 is plenty, etc.
Hook it up via a gigabit Ethernet connection to the network, use remote desktop connection to work the system, no need for mouse, keyboard, speakers or monitor. Encode from EDIUS timeline to a Canopus HQ file on your NLE system, then remote desktop into the FCB system and encode away

Your requirements are

1) Video Mastering Works 5
2) Spurs Engine Plugin (from same company)
3) Gigabit Network
4) Windows 7 Professional (on FCB system)
5) Download some presets found in this forum for Blu-ray

It really is a fine way to work.

Hawke 10-14-2012 09:02 PM

Thanks shueardm that is very useful it fills in the gaps, a few questions:-

Why do you say W7 for the slave computer does Video Mastering Works 5 not run on XP? If that's the case will it run on Vista? I have spare XP & Vista licences but only the one W7 used on my Edius machine, further expense therefore on another W7 licence.
A gigabit link is also a problem, my router is only 100Mb and can't be changed owing to the way it links with a telephone service. This I imagine would prevent real time operation so defeating the object of the exercise. I suppose the addition of gigabit switch to which the 2 machines would then be connected may work.
Both Edius 6.5 and TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 require an internet connection, how then does one get over the anti-virus problems now being encountered, currently I run Edius 6.08 without an internet connection and no anti-virus program on the machine.

shueardm 10-15-2012 01:04 AM

Hi Hawke,

You could use Windows XP Professional or Vista Business instead of Windows 7 Pro. It is a certain requirement for remote desktop control on the host PC to have the Professional editions, not Home Premium.

The internet connected router does not need gigabit connection but you would do well to invest in a $50 4 port gigabit switch which you would then connect to the router and have 3 ports for your networked PC's.

Hawke 10-17-2012 12:10 PM

Thanks Mark,
That confirms my thoughts.
My last question remains unanswered. Both Edius 6.5 and TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 require an internet connection now rather than use a security dongle. How then does one get over the anti-virus problems now being encountered and when earlier versions of anti-virus did run with Edius, there was a serious speed penalty imposed.

John Lewis 10-17-2012 02:38 PM

From my experience with TMPgenc it asks occassionally so when registered it may not ask for a few weeks again so you dont need it 100% of the time

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hawke (Post 194778)
Thanks Mark,
That confirms my thoughts.
My last question remains unanswered. Both Edius 6.5 and TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 require an internet connection now rather than use a security dongle. How then does one get over the anti-virus problems now being encountered and when earlier versions of anti-virus did run with Edius, there was a serious speed penalty imposed.


Hawke 10-17-2012 09:00 PM

John - And how does Edius 6.5X do it?

Bluetongue 10-18-2012 01:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hawke (Post 194821)
John - And how does Edius 6.5X do it?

Once only when installing / first start

Regards Barry

Hawke 10-18-2012 10:44 PM

Thanks everyone that settles my main doubts about purchasing the 6.5 update. I will build the off-line system and download trial software then experiment with the technique before making my final decision. It is such a pity that FCB integration with 6.5 has been ditched, I would far rather have a fully integrated system on one machine but perhaps this will be an improved way of working in the long run.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.