Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   ADVC (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Will Picture Controller 300 software be Vista ready? (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=267)

videoroy 05-13-2007 11:02 PM

Will Picture Controller 300 software be Vista ready?
 
I understand that the current version of the Picture Controller software that comes with the ADVC300 is not compatible with Vista. Is that correct and if so, are there plans to release a new version that is compatible?

BTW, I know that I can control everything (I think everything) from the hardware but that is much less convenient.

Thank you.

GrassValley_KH 05-14-2007 03:15 AM

It is correct that the Picture Controller software is not Vista-compatible. Unfortunately I don't have an ETA as to if/when a new version will be available which works with Vista.

THoff 05-14-2007 05:03 AM

It is also incompatible when run using the "Windows XP with SP2" compatibility option in Vista?

Markus K. 05-20-2007 11:39 AM

Well, but then how could this ad be true if there are no exact plans on supporting newer operating systems with the Picture Controller software?:

"Long Product Life
The broadest video equipment and editing software compatibility ensures ADVC300 provides a long product life and a high return on investment."


There is also no word on the Canopus website that the software is not Vista compatible!!!

Zorro 05-20-2007 12:04 PM

Quote:

There is also no word on the Canopus website that the software is not Vista compatible!!!
The product site clearly states the following:

Windows® 2000 (requires Service Pack 3 or higher), Windows® XP Home or Windows® XP Professional (requires Service Pack 1 or higher)
DirectX 8.0 or higher


Furthermore, the ADVC300 can be controlled without software.

Markus K. 05-20-2007 12:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zorro (Post 2072)
The product site clearly states the following:

Windows® 2000 (requires Service Pack 3 or higher), Windows® XP Home or Windows® XP Professional (requires Service Pack 1 or higher)
DirectX 8.0 or higher



The product site states this for the MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS, so it is not clear that the Picture Controller will not run under Vista.

Controlling the ADVC-300 without the software is not very comfortable.

Zorro 05-20-2007 12:17 PM

Quote:

The product site states this for the MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS, so it is not clear that the Picture Controller will not run under Vista.
I, for my part, understand that the absence of the word VISTA means that the Picture Controller software is not Vista compatible.

And the ad, of course, is correct: the ADVC300 provides a long product life and a high return on investment. It's all about the unit, not the software.

Markus K. 05-20-2007 12:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zorro (Post 2074)
And the ad, of course, is correct: the ADVC300 provides a long product life and a high return on investment. It's all about the unit, not the software.



Except fot the TBC problems with unsynchronized analog material and the up to 40ms audio offset. But that is going off topic now.

But I'm wondering what the problem is in releasing a new version of the Picture Controller? It is still the same old version and there never was a bugfix (the black level enhancement bug) or added features like saving the parameters to a file or numeric values for the sliders.

As this is only a "small" piece of software and no big dinosaur like Edius this would be a quick and easy work for more consumer satisfaction... I just don't understand it.

videoroy 05-20-2007 01:04 PM

I agree that Grass Valley should update the software to be Vista compatible and fix what ever bugs there are. Yes, you can use the ADVC300 without the software but it is significantly less efficient and easy to use.

Let's face it, it is the Picture Controller software (and the less convenient hardware controlls) that give the ADVC300 a reason for being. Without it you would buy the cheaper ADVC110 or just use your DV deck or camera to do the conversion.

BTW Markus, what is this Black Level Enhancement buy you speak of? I also like your idea to add the capability to save settings.

Markus K. 05-20-2007 01:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by videoroy (Post 2078)

BTW Markus, what is this Black Level Enhancement buy you speak of? I also like your idea to add the capability to save settings.

There is a bug with the black level enhancement which makes the blacks brighter at the weak setting instead of darker. The other settings (medium, strong) work like they should.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.