Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   ADVC (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   ADVC-55 on Mac OS Sierra - Green Light but not recognised. (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=42568)

Jabbo 10-13-2018 12:18 PM

ADVC-55 on Mac OS Sierra - Green Light but not recognised.
 
Hi all,

I have an ADVC 55 which is now out of warranty. When I connect it to a source, the green light comes on, but the hardware is not recognised by any of my software. I have tried using different firewire cables, on a number of different computers (all Mac). Anybody else had this issue with the same product or similar?

Thanks

antonsvideo 10-16-2018 02:05 AM

make sure the Mac has firewire 400 connection as the newer firewire 800 will not work

I recommend using the ADVC as a boat anchor

I assume your Mac has a thunderbolt connection, in which case this cheap product will work perfect
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...specs/W-INT-03

Jabbo 10-16-2018 01:35 PM

I also picked up an Intensity Shuttle recently, but have problems with dropped frames when trying to digitise from a Betamax player...do I need a time base corrector too?!

Jabbo 10-16-2018 01:39 PM

Ha ha! I already have plenty of obsolete gear to use as anchorage and ballast, but was hoping this ADVC would be useable. My friend has the same piece of kit working with a thunderbolt adaptor on his Macbook Pro, which leads me to believe mine has a fault. It is not recognised on my 2008 Macbook either...

antonsvideo 10-16-2018 09:35 PM

a TBC is always a good idea for VHS or Betamax capture, I always do

what codec are you capturing to? are you using the BM capture software?

Jabbo 10-17-2018 12:11 AM

Ok. Any recommendations for an affordable TBC? Not sure about codec. Somewhat of a newbie! When I use the BM software I get dropped frames. But I've also tried other software and have the same problem...

antonsvideo 10-17-2018 08:46 AM

1 Attachment(s)
in BM capture software, you should be able to select capture codec options? the High end ones may cause dropped frames if the computer or hard disks can't keep up

it is difficult to buy TBCs these days, lucky for me I have 6 working ones

you need to try the used market such as TVOne

Jabbo 10-17-2018 02:30 PM

Thanks for all your help. I'm looking at ebay to see what TBCs are available now (in the UK).
However, this still doesn't solve my original problem. Ideally I would like to be able to use the ADVC 55 to live capture composite video inputs into my old Macbook with Firewire 400, however, the lights are on, but no-one's home. Do you think there could be some internal fault with the capture card and if so, is it fixable? I am always loath to get rid of equipment which can still serve a purpose...

antonsvideo 10-18-2018 12:14 AM

do you have any friends or neighbors with a Win PC where you could test if it is recognized, just in case something is wrong with your firewire port not supporting FW400
or google your Mac model specs to see if it is meant to support FW400

later models only support FW800


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.