Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   Editing with EDIUS (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   AAF use in real life?? (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3045)

hvx_germanboy 10-12-2007 05:25 PM

AAF use in real life??
 
Hey everyone,

i was very excited when i read about the upcoming AAF import/export in Edius from version 4.5.

I havent had much opportunities to test it, as i mostly work with P2-footage, and AE simply doesnt support it natively as Edius does..!

But i did some tests, and i didnt really look like it really works..at least the way i thought it would work..!
(i had audio files doubled for example, half of them were empty..!)

I couldnt really open the files in AE then, and it did export all the files somehow, one video-file in the end, for the whole timeline i had in Edius.

I will do some more extended tests, but id be interested to hear from people if and how it works/changes the workflow..!?

I thought it would work the way, that the AAF-file is a kind of extended EDL that keeps just the links to the original files, so you can access them in a different programm (like AE), without getting any extra files (audio or video) and gives you also the opportunity to change the in and outs, as the route is still set to the original file..but maybe i am wrong...any ideas here?

SRsupport 10-12-2007 05:44 PM

AAF in AE is not any good in 6.5 and earlier.

If you have a newer version of AE your audio should be in aif format.
Then it works.

You have option with aaf to link to the original files or create new ones in the original codec or a other codec.
SO if you know that some program does not support codec x you would then tell the AAF to create the clips on export in a codec the other program supports.

HQ is great for that.

SR

dioveht 10-13-2007 01:38 AM

It is incompatible with Avid AAF... :(

I hope it will be improved

Mokusmisi 10-13-2007 03:12 PM

It is incompatible with Avid AAF... :(
 
I have tried a 5 minute long multicam (5 cameras) project without transitions at footage changes.
Exported the AAF then loaded into Sony Vegas Pro8.
Everything worked perfect including all the audio tracks, so on on this small trial I did not recognize incompatibility between Edius 4.51c and Vegas Pro8

regards,

Misi

SRsupport 10-13-2007 08:07 PM

I can confirm that edius AAF works smooth with Sony vegas. I have helped some people with a smooth audio work flow to vegas. They use Edius to edit and vegas to sweeten audio.

Sr

Blast1 10-14-2007 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dioveht (Post 17432)
It is incompatible with Avid AAF... :(
I hope it will be improved

You are refering to avid of course

SRsupport 10-14-2007 11:47 PM

:) he he

SR

hvx_germanboy 10-15-2007 11:48 PM

Okey,

must correct myself here,
as i did some more tests, and indeed it works fine under some circumstances..(for example DV-footage, HQ clips..)!

So sorry for mocking on Edius in this case..it was mostly due to my stupid settings i choose...so what i really need now is native P2 support in AE, but theres nothing GV can do in that case...hope adobe will invent it soon..!

More extended tests with AAF to come..!

Thanks everybody...!

Anyone who has experience with protools?
AAF would help a lot for sounddesign..!
I need to do more extended tests with P2, but it seems obvious that Edius needs to export as AIF in this case, otherwise protools wount be able to read the .mxf ill try to get some experience here too..!

dioveht 10-16-2007 01:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blast1 (Post 17491)
You are refering to avid of course

eheh, I'm refering to the "incomplete software" (Avid or Edius) :D

GrassValley_BH 10-16-2007 01:30 AM

Okay guys... All software is incomplete (in someone's eyes) - that's why it's software and hasn't been hardware-ized.

Let's keep on track.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.