Grass Valley Forums

Grass Valley Forums (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/index.php)
-   FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   FireCoder Blu (http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31764)

Thor 12-08-2013 03:11 AM

FireCoder Blu
 
I just bought a FireCoder Blu card.

Thought I'd experiment with it. My encodes for a 2 hour Blu-ray disc with Edius 6.07 Disc Burner take about 8 hours or more.

I've got an open PCIe slot in my system #2 below, so I figured I give it a try.

John Lewis 12-08-2013 11:05 AM

It should encode in app 2hours or less, something is wrong in your settings
Did you Check Use Hardware in encode options

PS
Support for FCB stopped at Edius 6

Ron Evans 12-08-2013 03:12 PM

Like John says it should be less than realtime. I took mine out when I got my Quicksync board as Quicksync is faster. It will work with TMPGenc with the plugin too.

Ron Evans

Jerry 12-08-2013 04:58 PM

Make sure the card is in a PCI-e 1x slot.

Thor 12-08-2013 07:32 PM

Thanks, Guys!

Jerry, I've got my HD Spark and a BlackMagic Intensity in the two available PCIe - 1 slots. I only have an open PCI - 16 slot available, unless I move one of the other cards to "16" slot. I believe the two 16 slots on the board are for SLI, which I don't use, and is disabled in CMOS/BIOS.

It should be arriving in about a week. I will take your advice and any other tips I receive for the installation and set-up.

I figured it was worth trying for about $100. I found it Amazon. An open-box, but supposedly new.

Jerry 12-09-2013 02:28 AM

If I recall correctly, it requires an actual 1x slot. A 16x won't work.

Thor 12-09-2013 03:29 AM

The Intensity Pro documentation says it will work in any PCIe slot, so I will move it to the -16 slot, leaving the -1 slot available for the FireCoder Blu card.

Thanks.

Thor 12-11-2013 11:15 PM

DOH! The company cancelled my order for the FireCoder Blu card on Amazon. It supposedly was sold to someone else, and not removed before I ordered it.

Oh, well. Still in the hunt for one.

GrassValley_BH 12-11-2013 11:48 PM

VideoGuys and DV411 still seem to have it listed... somehow I thought it was more expensive. Oh wait, that was Firecoder Intra...

Dry Biscuit 12-12-2013 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry (Post 224379)
If I recall correctly, it requires an actual 1x slot. A 16x won't work.

Correct !


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.