Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Plug In Choices and Recommendations (Boris Red)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plug In Choices and Recommendations (Boris Red)

I'm wondering if those with experience with Edius can help me with some upgrade decisions.

I am new to Edius having recently purchased a new and very capable system running Edius 6. I realize that the upgrade doesn't stop there and I will need a few essential plug-ins.

I will need to do Chroma Key, so I have narrowed the choice to Boris Red or Robuskey.

I need advanced titling, so I have decided on either Vistitle and/or Boris Red.

I intend, sooner, maybe later to upgrade to Edius 7.

Certainly at some point I will purchase all 4, but with a limited budget I need to choose just one for now. I am fully aware that Boris Red can do everything all the other three can do (perhaps not as efficiently or effectively) but I also suspect that Boris is going to be it's usual resource hog and may frustrate me in performance.

I have Boris FX 8 and I can upgrade to $295 (roughly the same cost as the other upgrades.)

What are the experiences with Boris Red on Edius. Does any one recommend it?

Thanks,

Doug Collins
    Asus P8Z77-V LE, Intel i7-3770 processor, 16GB ram, GTX 650 Ti PCIe graphics card, Storm 3G, Windows 7 Pro, Boris Red 2.1, Edius 6.08

I have the plugins that you have mentioned.

Chromakey:

Robuskey is the best choice for keying. In Edius 6 and 6.5 you will be looking at a lot of render time.
    I can get a certain amount of RT playback in Edius 7. If I have to render, it is much, much faster.
    Cost: $479

Titling:

The best titler choice for Edius is Visititle. With a minimal video card you can get real time performance. You will need to use an earlier version for Edius 6.
    Cost: $300

Solution:

Since you can get the upgrade to Boris Red for the upgrade price, it is a smart buy.