Gearing up for recording/editing in 4k60p

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gearing up for recording/editing in 4k60p

This winter I will be recording documentary type video and interviews in 4k60p for HD output. I’m looking into getting a video camera but I have no experience with 4k. I’ve got a camera budget of up to $3000.

I think one of my considerations for choosing a camera should be what the preferred codec/format is for editing in Edius and then choose a camera that offers it. But maybe I’m not thinking right. I have looked on the forum and haven’t come across anything yet to help with direction on this.

What codec/formats would you recommend I work with? And how would you approach this situation if you were me? Is there a particular camera that does 4k60p that you're happy with in relation to Edius? I’ll be editing with the desktop config mentioned in my signature.

Thanks for your help!
    Mobile setup: Edius X - Laptop running i7-10875H CPU @ 2.30GHz 2.30 GHz (8 cores/16 threads) with 64GB RAM and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super with Max-Q Design w/8GB VRAM.
    Desktop: Edius X - AMD 5950x installed in Asus ProArt Creator B550. 64GB Ram, 2 x 1TB m.2, 6TB HHD, and a cheap GPU w/1GB VRAM until I can get my hands on a 3080. Running Windows 10 Pro

My pc is allready 4 years old and has a first gen threadripper (1950x), a lot of my work is a 4 multicam setup with panasonic camera's (m4/3 and full frame) and I always shoot 4K 25p 100mbs 4:2:0 8bit codec, Edius x handles 4 streams in a multicam setup without a problem, no lag, no stutter and smooth timeline scrubbing. Did one project recently in a 4K 25p 150mbs 4:2:2 10 bit codec with one camera and also no issue at all, not sure but don't think 50 or 60p won't make much difference compared to 25p when it comes to edius performance, it's rare I use 50p so not much experience there. I think bitrate and bithdepth have a much bigger impact.
    Last edited by noafilm; 09-25-2021, 07:53 AM.