Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

E5 post-crash question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • E5 post-crash question

    Here's something I've never seen with v4.

    After a rather nasty system crash/restart while rendering to the Timeline I restarted Edius and after receiving the typical "Last-Saved" message I also got one about the file being edited by another user (of whom there are no others), and to save it under a new name. I'm guessing this to be a new file protection scheme, perhaps for network users. Probably a good idea.

    Here's the question, with a yarn...
    So I go to back up my data (twice daily) and now there's an new file named >filename<.ezp.lock
    If I delete this file, will my original (>filename<.ezp) be ok?
    Will the user info disappear?
    If Edius closed normally there is no >filename<.ezp.lock saved, right?
    Rusty Rogers | Films
    >TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
    >RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

    An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
    Twain - "Glances at History" 1906

  • #2
    Rusty,
    My system did not crash, just run normal and it has the filename.ezp.lock too (small 2K file). I don't know what is this file and ... don't want to delete it :-)
    Asus P5WDH Deluxe w/E6600 - 4GB Corsair - 8800GTS - 1TB & 1.5TB (2x750GB RAID 0) - Antec P180 + Trio 650W - XP Pro w/sp3 - NX PCIe w/Expansion Card - Edius 5.51
    Asus P6T i7 920 @3.6 - 12GB Corsair Dominator - GTX275 - 1.5TB & 3TB (2x1.5TB RAID 0) for Video - Antec P183 + Corsair HX-750W - Win7 - Edius 6.07 - Firecoder Blu - PC3.05.91 - BDR-203 - TMW5 & TAW5
    Asus P6T i7 930 - 12GB Corsair - GTX260 - 1TB & 1TB WD Black for Video - Antec P183 + TPQ-850W - Win7 - Edius 6.07 w/HD Spark - BDR-205

    Comment


    • #3
      I had the same error in edius 4.x as well... I think that it is normal... the backup file is read only so the software thinks that it is locked from another user...

      Just save with a new filename or save and replace your original file... then if you wish you can delete the backup files...
      Aristotelis Bafaloukos
      Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
      BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

      Ctrl+Alt+Delete

      Comment


      • #4
        Ok, but is the .lock file new? Yesterday was the first time seeing it after years of backups!

        I have renamed/saved the project, so now it's playtime...

        1) Locate the .lock file in Window Explorer.
        2) Re-open the crashed project with Edius.
        3) Go back to the Window Explorer.
        4) Press F5 to refresh...
        5) >Poof!<
        6) The .lock file is now gone!
        7) (I like lists)
        8) :~/ sigh
        Rusty Rogers | Films
        >TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
        >RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

        An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
        Twain - "Glances at History" 1906

        Comment

        Working...
        X