Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preserving EDL with Offline/Online files

Hi all,

I am new to Edius and I have a basic question.

I have an AVCHD camera. I tried to play the MTS files directly in Edius, but they do not play well (jumpy, clipped, sound is bad too).
    I have a powerful machine - an HP 8710w Mobile Workstation, dual core 2.5 Ghz, 3 GB Ram and I expected that I'll be able to play them directly.

So, I use now the AVCHD2HQ codec, I get great results, but there is one drawback - the resulting online files are huge...

My question is if it is possible to decode first the MTS files to offline quality, edit and then re-"capture" the relevant files (or the used parts of them only) with online quality.

Or may be there is another work flow that I'm unaware of?

Thanks in advance,

Kiril.
    HVR 1VU, HG10 AVCHD, Edius 4.61, Software only, HP Mobile Workstation, XP SP2, 4GB RAM, Dual Core Duo 2.5 Ghz, Maxtor 1.5 TB Raid 0 over FireWire.

Kiril
    They havn't invented the computer with enough grunt to edit native AVCHD yet!
    The best bet is what you are using with the CanopusHQ files, BIG but just great as they loose no quality and take the load off the procesor.
    So far as proxy files are concerned take this bit of advice, in HD FOCUS is so important I just cannot stress enough and with an SD proxy file (ala VAGAS) FOCUS problems are difficult to detect so you can end up with a final product that has glaring change in focus through out the video.
    When you edit in full HD this and other small problems that can ruin the final stand out glaringly so keep with the HQ files.