Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm new to video editing and need advice on which system to go with and why.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm new to video editing and need advice on which system to go with and why.

Hello everyone,

I am very new to video editing and have lots of questions. For starter, I have a Canon HF10 that records in the AVCHD format. The picture quality is very good (at least to me) and my current PC is just not able to do any editing with these files. I purchased a copy of Procoder 3 to convert the files into other formats with the intention of editing these files in either Vegas Pro 8 or Final Cut Pro. While doing my reseach on workstations, I called Grass Valley and after answering my Procoder 3 questions, they introduced me to the Grass Valley Ediius NX express hardware system.

Question #1: Who would you say the target customer is for Edius products, versus Sony Vegas Pro 8, Final Cut Pro and Adobe Premiere Pro?

Question #2: When it comes to the software interface and functionality, what are the advantages of going with Edius Pro 4.5 instead of going with Vegas video Pro 8, Adobe Premiere Pro or Final Cut Pro?

Question #3: I really want to be able to have a real-time preview of the 1920 x 1080 HD content I am editing on an external HD flat panel display. Assuming I am running a fast workstation (like a dual quad-core Intel system), what are your thoughts on going with a Vegas Pro 8 or Final Cut Pro running a Black Magic Intensity card (HDMI), versus the Edius Pro NX Express solution with it's real-time (component video out) card?

Question #4: Since the source material is AVCHD, but I have Procoder 3, what file format would be best to work with if I go with the Edius Pro 4.5 or if I go wth Sony Vegas Pro 8, Final Cut Pro or Adobe Premiere Pro?