My first post... Help needed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first post... Help needed!

I was hoping to make my first post a little different but I am in need of some help. I'm a long time editor and after a lot of research have decided to upgrade and purchase a couple of high-end edius systems in a couple of months. That's the good part. Here's the bad part. I have two older Canopus DV Storm systems that I use Premier 6.5 to edit. Believe it or not there are a lot of us still out there that were waiting for the new Sony cameras (ex1 and 3) before we decided on an upgrade path. I just can't buy a mac when edius is so much faster. Anyhow, I was editing earlier today when we had a power failure. After the power came back on I re-started my pc (with my fingers crossed) and everything was fine. I turned off the computer for lunch, came back to the studio and turned on the computer again. This time it doesn't see the two removable drives. However, It does see the internal drive. So I took out both of the drives and put them into my second computer. It's the same exact set-up (Windows XP professional). After a REALLY tense boot-up I can see the drive and all the work is there, no problems. So obviously computer number 1 is having a problem seeing the drives. I, am having a problem trying to make computer number 1 see the drives. Any ideas? I don't want to risk loosing weeks worth of work on the drives so I need help. I look forward to participating on here in the future (If this is not the appropriate forum for this type of question I would appreciate some direction). Thanks

David
    DMS
    David
    DMS Films, New York

Laptop - Edius 7.42 / Intel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition Desktop / 3.6GHz/4.0GHZ / 32GB Hyper-X Quad Channel 1600MHz Ram / Nvidia GeForce GTX-880 w/ 8GB of GDDR5 Video Memory / (3) 1TB SATA-3 V-NAND SSD / Windows 8.1 64-bit