Anything I really need to know before pulling the trigger

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anything I really need to know before pulling the trigger

I am new to Edius but not VE, I used Premiere 6.0 15 or so years ago to make some reasonable discs to send to the family scattered around the globe from mini DV tapes. A lot has happened since then and I have a pile of SDHC cards with AVCHD files that I want to edit into something reasonable.

My Canon HFS100 still generates fantastic quality video and I will continue to use it, but realize that .mts files are not the most friendly to edit. Based upon numerous google searches it looks like Edius is the best choice, and I have a PC capable of such edits (i9, 32Gb, Quadro 2200, ssd drives and 6Tb backup).

So questions for you worldly folks:

1. Should I wait til September to get Edius X or will upgrading from 9 - X be painless? Will I get all of the future X updates for free?

2. Is there a version that comes with a hardcopy of the manual? Us old folks like something physical to use rather than PDFs!

3. Are there any obvious tips and tricks I should employ when editing mts and m2ts files? I want to avoid recompiling if necessary to maintain quality (data is captured at 18 and 24 Mbs).

4. I will obviously save everything as files on HD, but will almost certainly generate DVD and Blu rays as wellto send to family. Are there any issues with generating discs that play in other parts of the world (mostly Europe)?

5. Is there any advantage ordering the software from a vendor rather than at the 'shop'?

6. Can I use FLAC files for inputing audio (background music)?

Anything else i have missed?

TIA for all of your help!

Phil

. mts files are not a problem. They edit easily.
    Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb Graphics: nVidia 1060, (W10 Pro) BM IP4K, E8v3 WG; Vegas Pro19; Davinci Resolve18_Studio, GH2(hacked), Pana HC-X2000E, GoPro5