Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about auto-save

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • vienna1944er
    replied
    copy and paste from the PPro2.0 manual ......(as a part from the test) ....... *g*

    To change the Auto Save settings
    By default Adobe Premiere Pro automatically saves your project every 20 minutes and retains the last five versions
    of the project file on the hard disk. You can revert to a previously saved version at any time.Archivingmany iterations
    of a project consumes relatively little disk space because project files are much smaller than source video files. It’s
    usually best to save project files to the same drive as your application. Archived files are saved in theAdobePremiere
    Pro Auto-Save folder.
    1 Choose Edit > Preferences > Auto Save.
    2 Do any of the following, and then click OK:
    • Select Automatically Save Projects, and type the number of minutes between saves.
    • ForMaximum Project Versions, enter the number of versions of a project file you want to save. For example, if you
    type 10, Adobe Premiere Pro saves the ten most recent versions
    .

    Leave a comment:


  • Philip
    replied
    Originally posted by SRsupport View Post
    The autosave works very good I only press save at start and before closing a project.
    Some would say I am crazy but I have finished lots of stuff without pressing crt+s while editing. :)

    Had a colleague over who still edits on premiere and he was sitting next to me.
    He asked me many times if I should not save.
    He was scared I was going to loose the work I was doing for him. :)
    Tell your colleague to turn on autosave in Premiere. I am pretty sure it has it. I started on premiere on version 6.5 and I believe I had it turned on there as well. Tell him to check his application preferences. I bet it's there.

    Leave a comment:


  • SRsupport
    replied
    The autosave works very good I only press save at start and before closing a project.
    Some would say I am crazy but I have finished lots of stuff without pressing crt+s while editing. :)

    Had a colleague over who still edits on premiere and he was sitting next to me.
    He asked me many times if I should not save.
    He was scared I was going to loose the work I was doing for him. :)

    Leave a comment:


  • Philip
    replied
    Originally posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
    It should write one, but only one, and it'll only appear if you

    a) have made a change to a project

    and

    b) haven't clicked "save" within that 3 minute window

    As soon as you click save, that autosave goes away and the counter resets - make no changes and no autosave file will show up
    Thanks...I just did a test following those rules and it appears to be ok. I was just puzzled as I kept finding empty autosave folders. Guess my work flow was just a little funky lately...or I kept hitting save on my own. :-)

    Leave a comment:


  • GrassValley_KH
    replied
    It should write one, but only one, and it'll only appear if you

    a) have made a change to a project

    and

    b) haven't clicked "save" within that 3 minute window

    As soon as you click save, that autosave goes away and the counter resets - make no changes and no autosave file will show up

    Leave a comment:


  • Philip
    replied
    Originally posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
    The way it works (from my own basic understanding).

    1. You'll have your master folder which is the project's name
    2. You'll have a subfolder called 'Project\Autosave' which will store one file that is overwritten at every autosave period
    3. You'll have a second subfolder called 'Project\Backup' which archives all previous saved copies of your project as you work on it. (so every time you hit 'Save,' a new file should appear)

    That's what I thought the functionality was doing as well. Problem is on my systems the autosave folders are empty. The backup folder functionality is working fine but autosave is writing to somewhere but not the projects root folder directory.

    All my machines are running the most recent version of Edius.

    Is anyone else's autosave not writing properly?

    Do I have a setting somewhere that is incorrect? Autosave IS enabled in my application settings.

    Leave a comment:


  • GrassValley_KH
    replied
    The way it works (from my own basic understanding).

    1. You'll have your master folder which is the project's name
    2. You'll have a subfolder called 'Project\Autosave' which will store one file that is overwritten at every autosave period
    3. You'll have a second subfolder called 'Project\Backup' which archives all previous saved copies of your project as you work on it. (so every time you hit 'Save,' a new file should appear)

    Leave a comment:


  • Philip
    started a topic Question about auto-save

    Question about auto-save

    I have autosave turned on in my project settings and have it set to save every 3 minutes. I see it autosaving frequently so that is good. Question is where are the autosave files being written?

    When I check my project folder it appears they are being saved in the Project/backup folder. The autosave folder is empty. Did something change with the last update to write everything to the backup folder?

    Isn't Edius supposed to be making a backup copy of the project to the backup folder whenever you open a project. I just did a save on a project and it did an autosave file but when I opened the project this morning it never did a backup to the backup folder like it used to in the past.
Working...
X