Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is Sync Mode?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • JimJulian
    replied
    Nice example Anton. Shift-Alt is perfect for moving large chunks of clips quickly and together in sync.

    Agree with Rusty. Should be a timeline button option.

    Choose wisely.

    jim

    Leave a comment:


  • biopic
    replied
    Originally posted by Rusty View Post
    IMO Sync Mode would be far less confusing if the button were not concealed as it currently is. Awareness of which mode you're in directly corresponds to the number of times you must hit Undo.
    Well said Rusty

    Leave a comment:


  • Rusty
    replied
    I'd first talk about the location of the Sync Mode toggles. (Timeline pull-down and menu)

    Although I work with Sync Mode Off probably <1% of my day, it is no less important. Many functions (like inserting transitions without clip extension on) are restricted when synced with other tracks.

    IMO Sync Mode would be far less confusing if the button were not concealed as it currently is. Awareness of which mode you're in directly corresponds to the number of times you must hit Undo.

    Rusty

    Leave a comment:


  • antonsvideo
    replied
    it is easy to explain!

    1. add two clips to VA1 and another to VA2 above and another to VA3 above etc

    now hold shift+alt and drag the first clip on VA1, all other clips on the other tracks to the right of the one being dragged will move along when sync mode is on

    2. turn off sync mode

    3. now hold shift+alt and drag the first clip on VA1, all clips on VA1 will move along but clips on other tracks stay in place

    sync on mode is used more often than sync off mode

    the same applies to Alt+N and Alt+M

    the same applies to any trim operation
    Last edited by antonsvideo; 09-28-2007, 03:42 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • JimJulian
    started a topic What is Sync Mode?

    What is Sync Mode?

    I've been reading some threads about this button and still don't know what its used for. Why would you ever want to turn it off? In 4.5 I believe it defaults to "off" suggesting that most of the time you'll want it off. The opposite appears more likely. I've seen this mess up new users in a hurry.

    Any examples of why you would want this off? I have 50 edius users I'm trying to explain this to.

    Confused,

    jim
Working...
X