Compressing the export

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compressing the export

Hi, I am new to EDIUS and am tring to get used to it. I currently own the EDIUS NEO 3. I have a one hour video that I did, and it is about 955 MB is size. I need to get it to be at most half of that. I was told that this is done in the File to Export. I have to use the Print to File export option. I just don't see how I can compress the file from there. I know I will loose quality but I was told to do this.

Please help???

Thank you!!!

The file size is a function of the length of the video and the bitrate used to encode it. If you can't shorten the video you must reduce the bitrate. Which format are you exporting in?

Comment

File size is a determined by a combination of duration and bit rate. Required bit rate is in part determined by the output resolution, output file format, and required quality. One hour of video at under 500MB sounds about like a video CD or similar at best. (Not very high quality by today's standards.) In contract a one hour video on DVD at nea commercial quality requires over 3 GB.

So the bottom line is what are you trying to produce?

Comment

I was asked to minimize the size of a video so that it would fit on a hard drive that has many, many files. I was told not to worry about the quality. I need to produce an MPEG 2, Print to File.
        Last edited by GrassValley_KH; 10-02-2012, 12:02 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by axjzgs View Post
          I was asked to minimize the size of a video so that it would fit on a hard drive that has many, many files. I was told not to worry about the quality. I need to produce an MPEG 2, Print to File.
          what problem do you have with print to file, mpeg2?
          Anton Strauss
          Antons Video Productions - Sydney