Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

"Consolidate Project", dangerous option...

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • "Consolidate Project", dangerous option...

    Hi,

    I was checking the diferent options available within the "Consolidate Project" feature, and I am somewhat confused with the last option "Delete Unused files in Project"

    When I consolidate a project, I am seeking to copy all files used in the project to the project folder, so I can backup my project easily in one folder, while keeping my original clips somewhere else.

    With the "Delete Unused files..." option, Edius will delete the files that have not been used in the project, not only from the Consolidate folder, but from the original location where the files are!

    Is this what it´s meant to be doing?

    In my humble opinion, if I consolidate a project, I would like the files required to be moved to the Project folder, but I don´t want any files deleted from its original location.

    Am I using this feature correctly?

    Thanks.

  • #2
    Why would you like to keep unused files?
    If you want to keep them there is no need for you to consolidate the project right?
    Steve
    EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
    A proud EDIUS EDITOR
    For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net

    Comment


    • #3
      Not only that, but that same option is available if you rt clk any clip in the bin. It has been an Edius option since the start.

      Comment


      • #4
        The right click in the bin we use often. Clean up the hard drives right from the project.
        Steve
        EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
        A proud EDIUS EDITOR
        For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Dasaecor View Post
          Hi,

          I was checking the diferent options available within the "Consolidate Project" feature, and I am somewhat confused with the last option "Delete Unused files in Project"

          When I consolidate a project, I am seeking to copy all files used in the project to the project folder, so I can backup my project easily in one folder, while keeping my original clips somewhere else.

          With the "Delete Unused files..." option, Edius will delete the files that have not been used in the project, not only from the Consolidate folder, but from the original location where the files are!

          Is this what it´s meant to be doing?

          In my humble opinion, if I consolidate a project, I would like the files required to be moved to the Project folder, but I don´t want any files deleted from its original location.

          Am I using this feature correctly?

          Thanks.
          I don't know if you have a correct answer about this so I am interested by your experience
          Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 2

          Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

          Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, [email protected], 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.

          Comment


          • #6
            This option is for copying the files you are using and deleting the ones you do not use - so it consolidates and cleans up at the same time. Personally I never like ANY program automatically deleting my media so I not do use it.
            EDIUS silver certified trainer.
            Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
            Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
            Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by David Clarke View Post
              This option is for copying the files you are using and deleting the ones you do not use - so it consolidates and cleans up at the same time. Personally I never like ANY program automatically deleting my media so I not do use it.
              Thanks for advice
              Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 2

              Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

              Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, [email protected], 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.

              Comment

              Working...
              X