Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• distribution codec, settings

Hi,

I am working with Edius 5.51 on a Canon 7D-material project. i want to view my finished HD-stuff with a Playon!HD-videoplayer on usb-stick, and I also need a format for sending stuff to others without the need for a disc medium.

I am still fairly new to HD-editing, and what I learned was, that the HQ codec works well as intermediate, though I can also cut the 7D material unconverted. But what codec with what settings would I use in Edius for viewing or distributing the finished HD-product? So far, I only had success with the "Apple TV" one, it does play fluidly on the Playon player, though it shows artifacts sometimes, and probably is very compressed. And there are no quality-settings available, so I guess, there are better solutions, considering that there is no Apple hardware involved here anyway?

Which one of the export settings should I choose instead? What would be the common standard?

My choice would be MP4 h.264. I think this MP4 codec would be a good choice for you as well. This is compatible with Playon!HD. I have delivered demo videos using h.264 on USB sticks myself and everyone was very happy. They were played using WMP or VLC etc. I either use Edius timeline to encode out to h.264, or I use the X264 open source line command encoder with the "Handbrake" GUI. X264 is one of the best if not the best at giving great quality with low bit rates. You can encode with X264 even at 2Mbs and you will be quite surprised with the quality. I know that I was.
    Tom Koveleskie - Director/Producer/Editor
    Quarter Town Films - Independent Feature and Documentary Films.

Edius 8 WG with HDSpark, AMD 8 core FX 8370 Black Edition 4.3 GHZ, MSI 970A Krait Edition, 16 GB Patriot DDR3 1333 MHz RAM, EVGA Nvidia GTX 780 TI graphics, Win 10 X64.

Comment