How to fix the capture stop in the middle of capturing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to fix the capture stop in the middle of capturing

Hello, I am a newbie, and a first time using ADVC-300. When I captured the VHS to my computer, every 20 or 25 minutes I got kicked off. Is there any setting that would be adjusted to prevent this happen? Thanks
    I am using pinnacle software to capture the analog video tape connected thru ADVC-300. My system is P4 3GHZ, with 2 Gb of ram and 256 MB geforce graphic card. It run on windows XP pro.
    When I captured the video, every 20 to 25 minutes. I kept getting disconnected from the ADVC-300 and reconnected. The system hardware dectection keeps appears saying that it detect the firewire device.... that was the problem
    Last edited by VSDS; 05-15-2007, 04:10 AM.

You might want to say what platform you are on, what software you are using to capture, and exactly what you mean by getting "kicked off".

Comment

20-25 min of DV = 4GB

you are getting kicked off if capturing to Fat32 drive (4GB limit per file)

when capturing to NTFS drive, then you can capture all day long (no limit until the disk is full)
      Anton Strauss
      Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS X WG with BM Mini Monitor 4k and BM Mini Recorder, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro

Comment

Nope, my drive is formatted as NTFS

Comment

What Pinnacle software are you using to capture?

The 1/2/4GB AVI filesize limit is a function of both the filesystem being captured to and the capture software (depends what method it uses to do the AVI writing).

Comment

Originally posted by VSDS View Post