best capture format and software

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best capture format and software

I just obtained a ADVC-110 to capture video from my camcorder and DISH Network PVR. I am new to all of this so please be patient. I want to save the output to my new home theater PC and then watch it on a plasma flat panel. What is the best format in which to capture the recordings and what would be the best software program? And, to watch on a large screen plasma or LCD (42"-50") what would be the best capture software? Would I have to capture in AVI and then transcode (is that the proper term) to another format to watch on plasma/LCD? Thanks.

The ADVC110 will convert the analog input to DV format, so the best way to capture is to capture from software that can capture from a DV camcorder/deck, which will be a straight data transfer, versus a video compression.

How is your plasma/LCD connected? Is it connected DVI/VGA to the computer, or is it accepting a video signal input?

Comment

Nero

Hi - I use nero recode II with my ADVC 300 - I capture to Nero Digital Format mpeg 4 - at about 5000kbps - you can get away with less - nero has a feature that lets you capture HD format - this is much larger file size as its 10000kbps

Comment

Video capture using ADVC110

I am trying to capture video into Sony Vegas via a canopus ADVC110 which is connected to a VHS payer. Most of our videos are in PAL format. The VHS player is connected to the canopus with s-video and audio cables. The canopus is connected to the PC using firewire cables. The Vegas is detecting the device but not showing the image or sound. I have tried changing some of the dip switch settings on the canopus but that hasn't made any difference. Has anyone had the same problem?

Comment