PDA

View Full Version : Encore CS4 or Sonic DVDit ProHD???????


Raja
03-17-2009, 01:45 AM
Searched the forums and just can't find the best DVD authoring package to go for for inputting Edius produced blu-ray files.

Will be producing Blu-ray discs and need to go for the 'least transcoding', quickest way to produce blu-ray and SD DVD discs.

Heard the problems with Encore. But is that fixed with CS4?
Is Sonic DVDit Pro HD better? (seems to have won many awards and Avid bundles it with their software).

I currently use DVD Workshop 2. I've read that Ulead Movefactory 7 does not allow for much customisation of menus??

Would be gratefull for any advice. Thanks.

medeamajic
03-17-2009, 02:01 AM
I thought Edius 4 and 5 could do DVD menus.

I used to use Uleads DVD authoring program with Edius 3.5 but I now use the CS4 Master Collection. The integration was to hard to over look. I imagine Encore would be better than Uleads DVD program if you have AE and Photoshop. With out the Production Premium or the Master Collection it is hard to design menus in Encore. Edius is OK if you just do video editing but if you want to run the full scope of multimedia then CS4 is your best bet.

The RT of Edius is great but it is no match for the CS4 integration. On the other hand you might be dissapointed just using Encore with out Photoshop or AE. Ulead worked OK for me but it is not as good a using the CS4 Master Collection.

Rusty
03-17-2009, 02:15 AM
Encore works fine with HQ files, if that helps. Look to the Procoder forums for ways to avoid transcoding. But there are no speedy miracles to BD.

shueardm
03-17-2009, 03:24 AM
. But there are no speedy miracles to BD.

FireCoder Blu is almost that IMHO.

To the poster. What awards has DVDit PRO HD won? They certainly would not have won any awards for after sales service, one of the worst in the industry. Product wise, it's OK just like Encore, nothing award winning I wouldn't have thought, maybe I am just fussy and expect all the features under the sun before I would make it award winning. Problem is, there aren't too many options but you should be happy with either/or, both do the job.

Raja
03-17-2009, 08:34 AM
I thought Edius 4 and 5 could do DVD menus........

I need motion menus. Transistions between menus would be nice too.


Encore works fine with HQ files, if that helps. Look to the Procoder forums for ways to avoid transcoding. But there are no speedy miracles to BD.

But won't Encore then convert the HQ files to mpeg and take time? I would have thought Procoder would be faster and better quality??


FireCoder Blu is almost that IMHO.

To the poster. What awards has DVDit PRO HD won? They certainly would not have won any awards for after sales service, one of the worst in the industry. Product wise, it's OK just like Encore, nothing award winning I wouldn't have thought, maybe I am just fussy and expect all the features under the sun before I would make it award winning. Problem is, there aren't too many options but you should be happy with either/or, both do the job.

Yeah, Firecoder Blu is on my list to purchase, but at the moment I'm trying to decide on an the authoring app. It has to have motion menus (and ideally transistions between menus like MF7), be fully customisable for menus and be compatible with Procoder/Edius exporter blu-ray and DVD files.

Click here for the awards I saw
http://www.roxio.com/enu/products/dvdit/hd/overview.html

Vaughan Wood
03-17-2009, 09:01 AM
Sony DVD architect 5 supports Blu-ray and DVD menus.

I have just downloaded it and have started learning it. Seems O.K.

I tried TMPenc authoring 4 as it says it will do both, but as the project is the first thing you select, all menus etc are lost and the project needs to be re-authored.

Architect 5 looks promising but I've just done a DVD, no BD dic yet, but seems to be able to do both with no re-authoring.

Cheers,

Vaughan

plekkie
03-17-2009, 01:32 PM
FWIW: I am using Sony DVD Architect 5 (comes only with Vegas Pro 8). For me DVDITPROHD, Encore CS3 (don't know CS4) and DVD Architect are very similar. I have had many problems with DVDITPROHD though, crashing, error messages and the like. That means too much time lost, and too much frustration.

Encore CS3 I have tried and I liked it, however, you have to buy the complete CS3 or CS4 suite (at least Production Premium).

DVD Architect I knew from version 3 with very good results (DVD only). With version 5 it is able to create both DVD and BD from the same project (if you wish so), just as DVDITPROHD and Encore (Encore can also create Flash from the same project). The other advantage of DVD Architect for me, is that it doesn't create many "mysterious" folders for each project, as DVDITPROHD and Encore do.

rando
03-17-2009, 02:42 PM
A Little correction, you can buy Adobe Premiere Pro for $800 (or less) and it comes with Encore.

plekkie
03-17-2009, 03:07 PM
Correct, my mistake. Though in Europe actual pricing is EUR 1010,-

Raja
03-17-2009, 11:38 PM
FWIW: I am using Sony DVD Architect 5 (comes only with Vegas Pro 8). For me DVDITPROHD, Encore CS3 (don't know CS4) and DVD Architect are very similar. I have had many problems with DVDITPROHD though, crashing, error messages and the like. That means too much time lost, and too much frustration.

Encore CS3 I have tried and I liked it, however, you have to buy the complete CS3 or CS4 suite (at least Production Premium).

DVD Architect I knew from version 3 with very good results (DVD only). With version 5 it is able to create both DVD and BD from the same project (if you wish so), just as DVDITPROHD and Encore (Encore can also create Flash from the same project). The other advantage of DVD Architect for me, is that it doesn't create many "mysterious" folders for each project, as DVDITPROHD and Encore do.


Thanks for the responses guys.

So now it looks like it'll be between Encore CS4 or Sony DVD Architect 5.

In Sony DVD Architect 5, after bringing in a BD or SD compliant file, how long to render an ISO image (after authoring is done)?

medeamajic
03-18-2009, 01:33 AM
Raja,

Edius is a good editing program but if you do get the Production Bundle (Photoshop and AE for motion menus) also give Premiere and Sound Booth a try also. You might like them and it is good to check out the competition.

Raja
03-18-2009, 02:00 AM
Raja,

Edius is a good editing program but if you do get the Production Bundle (Photoshop and AE for motion menus) also give Premiere and Sound Booth a try also. You might like them and it is good to check out the competition.

Can menus created in AE be edited/integrated directly into Encore?

Now if only Edius Print to DVD had Motion menus.

medeamajic
03-19-2009, 10:24 PM
Can menus created in AE be edited/integrated directly into Encore?

Now if only Edius Print to DVD had Motion menus.

Yes. As I have stated with out AE or Photoshop Encore is not that great. There is not a lot of fancy tools for menu design in Encore that I know of. Encore does have some decent presets.

Jerry
03-21-2009, 05:37 PM
Thanks for the responses guys.

So now it looks like it'll be between Encore CS4 or Sony DVD Architect 5.

In Sony DVD Architect 5, after bringing in a BD or SD compliant file, how long to render an ISO image (after authoring is done)?

Until an update is made available for Adobe Encore CS4, I would stick with CS3. There is an issue with motion menu and audio on menus. However, the popup feature works pretty good, no direct preview though, but you will need to know your way around photoshop to make them work.

The issue is widely documented in the Encore forums. This is a bug....a BIG BUG!! It reared its ugly head on me on a recent project. I ended up using CS3 on my other machine. Project was delivered, but not without a big pain for me.
All I can say is wait for the update for CS4 before jumping in. It may come out at NAB...but don't hold your breath.

As far as CS3, I really like it. I also have DVDITPROHD, but do not care for it's handling of photoshop files. I am still learning DOSTUDIO. This is a more professional package, not without issues. But, will deliver Studio quality BD.
You can rent it for a month or purchase at $7,000.

I am not familiar with DVD Architect 5 and cannot comment on what it does or will not do.

As far as transcoding....that should be your responsibility to learn what the program that you have chosen requires.
The PC3 presets are posted. They work in both CS3 CS4 of Encore, and DVDITPROHD. If you use the correct settings and
read the panels correctly, you will create a successful BD.

Ron Evans
03-21-2009, 10:02 PM
Thanks for the responses guys.

In Sony DVD Architect 5, after bringing in a BD or SD compliant file, how long to render an ISO image (after authoring is done)?

I just did a 1 hour 40 min project. Edit was in Edius 5, multicam with 2 FX1 tracks and one SR11 AVCHD, final render to HQ was from native files and took about 40 mins from Edius. This file was then put into Vegas 8 for final audio edit, set and name markers and output preset for DVD Architect 5 Bluray at 25mbps VBR. This took about an hour to encode. Input into DVD Architect takes about 5 mins for file to load in Architect. Authoring has most of what you may want like popup menus etc. In this case it was simple menu with a few choices although there were a lot more chapter markers available on playback and which come over automatically from Vegas. Time to make an iso image was 29 mins after authoring. Substituting SD files from a TMPGenc encode of the same basic HQ file took only 3 mins to create. This was accomplished by just changing the project properties and substituting the media. All chapters and menu remained the same between Bluray and SD versions.
It has become my standard program now as it is very easy to use once learned.

Ron Evans

Raja
03-21-2009, 10:41 PM
Thanks for the replys guys.

Jerry, Does CS3 have popup menus (like CS4)?

Ron, do BDs created in Architect play fine on BD players?

Ron Evans
03-22-2009, 02:38 AM
Raja
I have created Bluray really for my own archive which play fine on my PS3 and also on the few players I have tried at friends etc. These include the latest Sony BD players tried at the Sony store and friends Samsung and Panasonic players. 4 different players and my PS3 is all I know of at this time. All played no problem both writen on Sony BD-RE discs and Verbatim BD-R discs both 25G and Dl 50G. All have been MPEG2 VBR at about 23 to 25mbps average max 30 and min 15.

Ron Evans

sherri@tidychaos.c
03-22-2009, 03:54 PM
I use Edius for editing the project & making the final avi. I then import it into CS4 - Encore - for DVD authoring and I have never had one single issue. (OK - ONE thing that stumped me was rendering my highly-involved motion menu once so that it would play in the preview window - but that was easily solved and a user issue!) I regularly make motion menus and put audio on my main menus.... I have never had one problem.... As far as encoding time, the more powerful the computer, the faster the time. I have a workhorse of a computer - plods along slower but always gets the job done. It takes about 1.5 hrs for me to completely encode a 2 hour DVD with very involved motion menus, audio.... etc.

Jerry - can you please elaborate for me as to the pop-up issue? I am unaware of any and this sounds important!

As far as Encore vs DVDIT - You do not need to know how to use Photoshop, as customizing menus in Encore itself is simple. However,if you do know your way around Photoshop, making custom menus, buttons, even motion menus is easy. I have not used CS3 but switching between the Adobe platforms in CS4 is seamless. I have used DVDITPRO and it simply looks childish compared to Encore - even the included templates in Encore are great. IMO,Encore gives the user more opportunities for creativity.

Plus, Encore can make Blu-Ray, DVD's and flash files. Very convenient! Downside - you will need to purchase the entire suite to get Encore, it's not stand-alone. BUT - Along with (Obviously) Premiere Pro, it also comes with Media Encoder - REALLY useful for encoding for web videos and interchanging between formats (plus other useful programs too... lol)

Hope this helps.
S.

Jerry
03-22-2009, 04:38 PM
Jerry - can you please elaborate for me as to the pop-up issue? I am unaware of any and this sounds important!

As far as Encore vs DVDIT - You do not need to know how to use Photoshop, as customizing menus in Encore itself is simple. However,if you do know your way around Photoshop, making custom menus, buttons, even motion menus is easy.


First, here is a link for the popup creation technique:
http://www.adobe.com/designcenter/encore/articles/lrvid4079_enc.html

In order to make your own popup menus, you WILL need to know your way around photoshop. The actual menu is a pain to create. Adobe does have
pre made ones, but I prefer my own.
As you mentioned, it is easy to customize your menu within Encore. However, I find it missing the abilities that are truely needed to modify a comlplete menu.

CS3 is basically the same as CS4 with a few addtions. Many of them buggy at this point.

sherri@tidychaos.c
03-23-2009, 12:51 AM
TY for the info, Jerry.
AND I agree - customizing within Encore is not as robust as using Photoshop... However, the menus generated within Encore look much more polished than those of DVDIT. If one did not know Photoshop, at least they could produce good looking menus by semi-customizing (or customizing once you got good) the templates using the built in editor.

As you said, Photoshop users will get much more out of using Encore than those who are unfamiliar with it.

TY for the info again!
S.

Raja
03-23-2009, 01:36 AM
First, here is a link for the popup creation technique:
http://www.adobe.com/designcenter/encore/articles/lrvid4079_enc.html

In order to make your own popup menus, you WILL need to know your way around photoshop. The actual menu is a pain to create. Adobe does have
pre made ones, but I prefer my own.
As you mentioned, it is easy to customize your menu within Encore. However, I find it missing the abilities that are truely needed to modify a comlplete menu.

CS3 is basically the same as CS4 with a few addtions. Many of them buggy at this point.


Thanks for the link Jerry. I've been using Photoshop for years. I'm quite fluent with it.
I'll give CS3 Encore a try.

Watermoore
04-11-2009, 05:26 AM
I thought Edius 4 and 5 could do DVD menus.

I used to use Uleads DVD authoring program with Edius 3.5 but I now use the CS4 Master Collection. The integration was to hard to over look. I imagine Encore would be better than Uleads DVD program if you have AE and Photoshop. With out the Production Premium or the Master Collection it is hard to design menus in Encore. Edius is OK if you just do video editing but if you want to run the full scope of multimedia then CS4 is your best bet.

The RT of Edius is great but it is no match for the CS4 integration. On the other hand you might be dissapointed just using Encore with out Photoshop or AE. Ulead worked OK for me but it is not as good a using the CS4 Master Collection.

Going to Adobe CS4 because its convent would be a rash decision you would most likely regret down the line. A lot of the components that are offered by Adobe that are great: After Effects, Encore, and Photoshop mainly, I use them to this day. Premiere may seem fine but its hardly stable when it comes to editing or even handling HDV. The sad thing being that the bugs have been around since cs2 or even earlier and still remained unaddressed! Adobe has made a ton of great products but since they have shifted there focus into acquiring and integrating other people software is seems what they had gets nothing more then an updated Ui. This is the main reason I am even aware of Edius. I got sick and tired of putting my money in a bundle of software that feels unfinished especially since I got to the point where I was spending more time troubleshooting then editing.