Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2008, 04:52 AM   #1
mhar_you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 101
Default Destination Drive is Too Slow

Been using Edius for more than 2 years now on my destop PC and never encountered this error. After purchasing a DEll laptop 1400, I downloaded the drivers for XP from the dell site because its not a part of the cd driver. Installed win XP and Edius. I started capturing and at around 30 min. of capturing, there was a message of destination Drive is too slow. Im capturing via firewire. The bad thing is that the laptap stops capturing but the player continue to play. I then tried and repeat capturing and after 15 mins. again the message appear. I reformated the PC and installed everything again. capture using different firewire cable and player but still the message appear after around 30 min. The hardrive is empty with a capacity of 120 gig. I installed 4.52 Edius.

Whats happening?

Mhar
mhar_you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 04:54 AM   #2
mhar_you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 101
Default

Oh by the way before I posted I have already tried those suggestions from the Disc too slow thread and still nothings happen.
mhar_you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 06:26 AM   #3
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,082
Default

If you are editing on the system drive and not a dedicated drive be sure to turn off anti-virus protection. (I do this anyway) If the problem persists, try disabling the automatic file division. A pain, I know... but it works for slower systems. As a last resort, capture as .mpeg and convert to HQ in the Bin.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>Flanders Scientific LM-2140W Grading monitor & 30" Apple Cinema Display (2650x1600!)BM Resolve & Ultrascope
>TYAN S7025, 16GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5550's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win8 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN GPU, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>ASUS ROG G750JH - 24GB RAM, i7-4700HW Quad, 1TB SSD system, 1TB Storage, Win8.1 x64, GeForce GTX 765M

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:26 AM   #4
mhar_you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 101
Default

I have already disabled it. the laptop is a core 2 duo. I think its fast enought considering that my other laptop without a problem in capturing is P4 1.4 which is not even hyperthreading and was capturing without any problem. My new laptop is core 2 duo 1.6 with 4 gig memory and I dont think that it is slow for that matter. My other laptap is P4 1.4 with only 1 gig of memory but no problem re capturing. Using Media studio Pro 8 is my way now of capturing without any problem. but capturing in edius is way easier coz it immediately provide the waveform and place the captured avi in folder.
mhar_you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:28 AM   #5
mhar_you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 101
Default

and by the way the only program running is Edius and as in no other program. no antivirus or whatsoever just the OS and Edius
mhar_you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 10:03 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 14,122
Default

disable drive indexing in drive properties for all files and folders

also, make sure that the drive write cache is enabled in disk policies
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS Pro7 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X79 Extreme11, HexaCore Intel Core i7-4930K, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Quadro K4000, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4x WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 x Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 11:24 AM   #7
mhar_you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
disable drive indexing in drive properties for all files and folders

also, make sure that the drive write cache is enabled in disk policies
done it before I posted my inquiry. any of you guys who can lead me to a trial version of 4.61 or anybody who tried upgrading to 4.6x and solve the problem?
mhar_you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 11:35 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 14,122
Default

4.61 is a free download, log in to your account and choose product related downloads

4.61 works excellent here
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS Pro7 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X79 Extreme11, HexaCore Intel Core i7-4930K, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Quadro K4000, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4x WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 x Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 11:58 AM   #9
Stereodesign
Senior Member
 
Stereodesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: York
Posts: 254
Default

This is a well documented bug in Edius from v4.5 onwards. It happens on some PC's not on others. I have two identical systems built by the same provider at the same time. One does it the other does not. a search of the forum will bring up the threads.
GV say they are working on a fix, but don't hold your breath.

In the meantime either capture in another application or use HDV Split for HDV capture and Canopus DV capture for SD video. DV capture is a free download from the Canopus site.
__________________
System 1 - Win7 64/Edius 5.51/Asus P8/8Gb RAM/RAID0/i7 2600K OC/nVidia Quadra 600
System 2 - Win XP/Edius v4.61/Asus P5 DH Deluxe/4Gb RAM/RAID0/Quad Core 2.4Ghz Q6600/nVidia 9800GT 512Mb/NXHD + other stuff
Stereodesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 03:26 PM   #10
skier-hughes
Senior Member
 
skier-hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Staffs UK
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhar_you View Post
done it before I posted my inquiry. any of you guys who can lead me to a trial version of 4.61 or anybody who tried upgrading to 4.6x and solve the problem?

Not me, still have it.
__________________
www.myvideoproblems.com
Microsoft MVP in Digital Media

Edius 4.61, NX Express, xp sp2
skier-hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drive disk too slow Mark Editing with EDIUS 17 08-27-2008 08:18 PM
Playback Stutters -- Drive too Slow BillBarrett Editing with EDIUS 5 03-13-2008 05:17 AM
Destination disk drive to slow? Carloscda38 Editing with EDIUS 3 01-15-2008 05:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.