Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2007, 03:36 PM   #1
DVcatastrophe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 51
Default free anti-virus to use with Edius system

What's a good free anti-virus software that doesn't screw up Edius/NX or Edius/Storm systems?

I was recommended Avira, but it doesn't seem to update properly anymore, is AVG OK?
__________________
IntelDG965SSK mobo, nVidia7600GT, Intel E6420Core2Duo 2.13ghz, 1 meg DDR2 RAM, Canopus Storm2Pro, Edius 3.62.
DVcatastrophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 03:39 PM   #2
T-Bone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 111
Default

maybe with the system you have AV software won't affect it that much, but as you probably know the recommendation is not to run any AV software on an editing machine
__________________
Harris

A tough fight abroad is better than any fight at home.
Churchilll - "Mr. Broderick's Army," 1903
T-Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 03:46 PM   #3
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

On my systems I use Avast Home Edition (Free) and I have no problems at all...
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:10 PM   #4
Julian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 24
Default

We use AVG as the anti-virus together with Zone Alarm the firewall, we like that solution a lot but on our editing machines we don't install any of those and it doesn't access the inet just the LAN to get files needed we keep them as isolated as possible and with the minimum # of applications.
Julian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 09:16 PM   #5
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,796
Default

Any non-realtime antivirus should be fine with EDIUS.

It's the "realtime" protection, where the AV system scans every file as it is accessed, that really slows things down.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 10:17 PM   #6
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,417
Default

AVG Free is the one - running on 3 editing systems for years - not a twitch.

Paul
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.21 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX780Ti Decklink HD Extreme.

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 10:41 PM   #7
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: cali
Posts: 2,767
Default

I haven't been using any anti virus software for years....and my system's fine. Just don't go to sites that you don't trust and don't download anything that's not official and if it looks fishy, it probably is.
__________________
Nothing is true. Everything is permitted.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 08:37 PM   #8
tony
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 1,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
Any non-realtime antivirus should be fine with EDIUS.

It's the "realtime" protection, where the AV system scans every file as it is accessed, that really slows things down.
Can you please give the name of one thats recommended.
__________________
Tony


Asrock Z68 Extreme7 --i7-2700K --EDIUS Pro 7--HDStorm+ --16GB Kingston HyperX--GTX 560Ti--AX850 PSU--MxM PCI-e Reader--Win8.1 Pro 64bit
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:34 PM   #9
Philip
Senior Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 683
Default

I've been using Avast as well for a few years...works great with one caveat for me. I discovered on my systems that when it is running it will sometimes slow the switching between apps if you have more than one app open at the same time. I had lots of trouble with this awhile back and finally discovered it was Avast. I just disable it whenever editing on those machines. My main editing machine doesn't hit the net so I have nothing on it. The others do occasionally so I have on those.
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 12:09 AM   #10
tony
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 1,233
Default

Good to know Philip.
__________________
Tony


Asrock Z68 Extreme7 --i7-2700K --EDIUS Pro 7--HDStorm+ --16GB Kingston HyperX--GTX 560Ti--AX850 PSU--MxM PCI-e Reader--Win8.1 Pro 64bit
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAJOR problems with Edius 5--did I say I was having MAJOR problems? David Ice Editing with EDIUS 38 03-14-2011 11:12 AM
IBC Edius 5 vienna1944er Editing with EDIUS 0 09-12-2008 12:11 AM
Edius NX ADVC + Premiere Pro CS3 ? strikemercury Editing with EDIUS 7 04-14-2008 04:55 AM
Edius Laptop as primary edit system? gmcnally Editing with EDIUS 7 09-10-2007 07:33 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.