Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2008, 08:41 PM   #1
adamread
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Boris Red in Edius

I know that this issue has already been raised in previous posts.

I myself have approached both Boris FX and Canopus without any real resolution to the issue...

Basically...

When using any Boris product as a plug in to Edius (in my case Red), there is a field dominance problem on render out with any Edius setting other than DV.

Can someone at GV, *please* tell us what needs to be done to fix this problem, as lack of a credible 3rd party FX package in Edius is seriously starting to hamper my work flow.

Many Thanks


ADAM READ
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 11:50 PM   #2
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 1,750
Default

Adam
So far the only response I have had to my questions on this is an email from Boris to the effect they are looking into this, that was 3 months ago, so in the fullness of time there may be a fix.
It is interesting to note all the new products Boris are putting out Edius is not mentioned in the Advertising, it looks like they have dropped Edius
The only way is to use Boris outside Edius for any active filter which precludes Transitions.
As a suggestion try Vitascene from Prodad works well and is not render intensive
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 7(64)HP, EDIUS 7.31, HD Spark, Firecoder Blue Boris RED 4/5, VMW5, DVDLab Pro2, DVDMF 7 Pro, Authorworks 5, Bluff Titler, Title Deko, VisTitler 2.5, NEAT, Izotope RX2
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@3.99G, 12G DDR3 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, ATI 6950OC @ 900Mhz, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HFS21, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50i HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop HP dv7-2111TX Win 7 HP(64) Quad T9000 8G mem Edius 7.31 Kingston 240gSSD+750G HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 01:23 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 13,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamread View Post
I know that this issue has already been raised in previous posts.

I myself have approached both Boris FX and Canopus without any real resolution to the issue...

Basically...

When using any Boris product as a plug in to Edius (in my case Red), there is a field dominance problem on render out with any Edius setting other than DV.

Can someone at GV, *please* tell us what needs to be done to fix this problem, as lack of a credible 3rd party FX package in Edius is seriously starting to hamper my work flow.

Many Thanks


ADAM READ
here is my quick workaround

1. apply the transition or effect

2. set in at start of transition and out at end (or double click ruler above the selected transition or clip in case of effect) this will set in and out automatically

3. press shift+Q

4. a rendered clip will be placed above transition, got to its properties and reverse field order

perfect results

I contacted Boris and they have not replied at all after 3 months
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS Pro7 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X79 Extreme11, HexaCore Intel Core i7-4930K, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Quadro K4000, Samsung 840 Pro SSD for System, 4x WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 x Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 01:27 AM   #4
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 1,750
Default

Anton
Once again your a genius
Best Regards Barry
__________________
Win 7(64)HP, EDIUS 7.31, HD Spark, Firecoder Blue Boris RED 4/5, VMW5, DVDLab Pro2, DVDMF 7 Pro, Authorworks 5, Bluff Titler, Title Deko, VisTitler 2.5, NEAT, Izotope RX2
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@3.99G, 12G DDR3 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, ATI 6950OC @ 900Mhz, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HFS21, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50i HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop HP dv7-2111TX Win 7 HP(64) Quad T9000 8G mem Edius 7.31 Kingston 240gSSD+750G HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There is 'Full' Alpha support using Boris in Edius gapmedia Editing with EDIUS 2 09-13-2008 05:52 AM
Boris RED Bluetongue EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 5 07-01-2008 09:13 PM
Boris RED with Edius Mouayed Zabtia Editing with EDIUS 9 06-08-2007 10:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.