Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 10:37 AM   #1
Alpha Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kilkeel, Northern Ireland
Posts: 126
Default Edius 7 and Davinci Lite

I am considering upgrading to version 7 as it supports DaVinci Resolve. I'd really like to know if this includes the Lite version of Resolve, as I have that version but no intention or budget to be able to upgrade to the full version.
__________________
System:
Custom build PC: EDIUS 6.54; Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard; Intel i7-3770K CPU, 3.50GHz, Ivy Bridge; 16GB Corsair DDR3 RAM; Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX650 2GB DDR5 PCI-E Graphics Card; 500 Watt PSU, 1 x 500GB SATA2 Drive for System, 1 x 1TB and 1 x 2TB SATA2 drives for video footage; Pioneer BDR-207DBK 12x Internal BD-RW Burner; Windows 7 64 Bit

UK Based Freelance Cameraman and Video Editor
Alpha Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:05 AM   #2
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,377
Default

There's essentially no difference between the lite and full version of Resolve, bar support for raster sizes beyond 1920x1080 - but do read about the current level of support for Edius Resolve round tripping elsewhere on the forum, so as not to be disappointed at first - this is sort of "in Development" as I understand it.

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.21 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX780Ti Decklink HD Extreme.

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 01:20 PM   #3
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,158
Default

Anyone know if the advertised workflow between Edius 7 and Resolve has been published yet. AFAIK it does not yet exist and GV seem silent on the advertised feature.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 6.54, Storm3G, Intel DX58SO, Intel Core i7 930 CPU, Gigabyte GTX460, 5xWD2000RE4 -SATA2 Video HDD, 1XWD1000RE4-SATA2 System HDD, LG H20L BDRW Drive-SATA, 12GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM, VisTitle 1.8,
Onboard Sound, 1394 & LAN, WIN 7 64bit Ultimate.

Encoding/Authoring - Asus Z87 Expert Intel 4770k CPU, Gigabyte GTX550Ti, Western Digital HDD's, LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM, BMD Intensity Shuttle, HDSpark, CS6 Creative Cloud, Win 7 64bit HP.
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 03:44 PM   #4
DmitryP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kiev
Posts: 58
Default

Once they (i.e. GV) said, they will publish the workflow upon Ed 7 releasing. Also being waiting for this paper.
__________________
Workstation: Dell Precision T5500 | Edius NX HD Suite w/ Bay | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64 | CPU: Two Intel Xeon X5550 2.66GHz | 48GB 1133MHz DDR3 ECC-UDIMM | Boot/Apps Drive: WD5002ABYS 7200RPM | Video: 2x500GB Raid 0 (1.0TB) | Graphics Card: NVIDIA® Quadro® FX 3800 | UAD-1 | TC Electronic PowerCore Express
DmitryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:22 AM   #5
xmanflash
Senior Member
 
xmanflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulTV View Post
There's essentially no difference between the lite and full version of Resolve, bar support for raster sizes beyond 1920x1080 - but do read about the current level of support for Edius Resolve round tripping elsewhere on the forum, so as not to be disappointed at first - this is sort of "in Development" as I understand it.

Paul :-)
The Noise/Grain removal features do not work in the Lite version.. Almost made me buy it lol...
__________________
www.wishlistcentral.com - suggest new features
www.buglistcentral.com - report bugs
www.wishlistcentral.com/edius/ - Free edius user add-ons
xmanflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 11:15 AM   #6
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 932
Default

The round tripping is basically an extra entry in the EDL export which makes the clip name the tape name. You do the same in DaVinci (which is a preference) and it should make sending edits back and forth and relinking easier. I have not actually tried it properly yet so I don't know how well it works. It's on the "to do" list.

I just did a days shoot using the Blackmagic Cinema camera which I am editing in EDIUS and will grade soon, so I will have to sort it out then!

DaVinci lite is fully functional. As stated above the big differences are bigger than HD sizes (like my BM Cinema camera), noise reduction (which is pretty good) and Stereoscopic support.

The full version also supports dual graphic cards and plays back better on a single graphic card. I get more realtime nodes with the full version than with the lite one.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer & reseller of EDIUS, Vistitle, Premiere Pro CS6 & CC, Avid, Vegas, DaVinci Resolve & custom-built PC editing systems.
Main edit laptop: DVC IVYBRIDGE laptop, 16GB RAM, 3.4Ghz processor, nVidia 660m graphic, Quicksync, Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle, Windows 7/8.
Desktop: 3.5Ghz Haswell processor, 16GB RAM, Quadro 4800, Intensity Pro, Windows 7/8.
Desktop: 3.6Ghz 2011 pin i7 processor, 16GB RAM, nVidia 570, Blackmagic Extreme 3D, Windows 7 Pro/8
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 01:14 PM   #7
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DmitryP View Post
Once they (i.e. GV) said, they will publish the workflow upon Ed 7 releasing. Also being waiting for this paper.
Right, Steve (SL) made the announcement but no paper until now.
Zorro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 02:12 PM   #8
Andy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
The round tripping is basically an extra entry in the EDL export which makes the clip name the tape name. You do the same in DaVinci (which is a preference) and it should make sending edits back and forth and relinking easier. I have not actually tried it properly yet so I don't know how well it works.
Hopefully this sidesteps the issue of "meta" media, such as C300 (Canon XF) media that (when brought in via the Source Browser) is subsequently referenced though it's associated "CIF" metadata file rather than the "MXF" wrapped essence file itself. Fingers crossed.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to work da vinci resolve lite in edius 5.5 pbskasaa Editing with EDIUS 1 07-07-2013 07:35 AM
AVCHD Lite __ can Edius 5.5 edit it? jonsol07 Editing with EDIUS 4 06-06-2010 12:22 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.